CPU Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2004, 02:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
Question CPU Problems

Hi, I'm doing a research project and I need help coming up with 2-3 problems that can happen to the CPU, and how to be able to recognize that problem and how to fix it. Can someone help me?
__________________

dstarsky is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 02:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 50
Send a message via AIM to r1y23
Default

CPU OVERHEATING- computer will shut down automatically or will not start.

if your cpu has not already fried check fans and get more if needed, move wires for better air flow, drill holes in case better air flow.
__________________

__________________
MY RIG:
AMD X2 3800+
1.5 GB RAM
Radeon X600 AIW 256 mb
2 80gb sata HDD (striped)
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Sony Internal 16X DVD+R / duel layer
Creative audigy zs 2 gamer
Floppy drive (black)
Gigabyte GH-PCU21 cooling fan
--Kingwin KT-424-S-WM Silver Aluminum Case--
r1y23 is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 02:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
Default

thanks r1y23, now I need 2 more problems...hmm....
dstarsky is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 02:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Trenton, FL
Posts: 11
Default CPU or other loose hardware.

PC is on but monitor shows no display and a sequence of beeps emits from the PC. Check fitting of CPU, RAM, Video card, sound card etc. If necessary, remove and refit these components
Sherndon is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 02:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Trenton, FL
Posts: 11
Default

On boot up, display shows incorrect CPU type/speed

Check the motherboard manual for the appropriate CPU jumper settings (where applicable)
Check BIOS settings for CPU type (see Motherboard Manual)
Perform a BIOS reset procedure
Perform a BIOS update (with an updated BIOS, the Motherboard may support your CPU)
This may indicate a faulty/old motherboard
Sherndon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.