CPU Problem - It's not even working at 1/2 speed! help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2005, 12:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Ramza_Beoulve
Default CPU Problem - It's not even working at 1/2 speed! help!

Hey all!

Figured I'd leave my current forum and come to a new one to ask a question.

I've been having some trouble with my computer lately, my CPU is working at about 40% normal power.

I know this, because I use a benchmarking software called Aquamark 3, here's my normal stock score:
Click!

and here's my current, not so good stock score:

Click!

CPU temp is 39 C at idle.

any ideas would be great. Thanks!
__________________

Ramza_Beoulve is offline  
Old 06-12-2005, 12:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

looks weird, the clock is where it should be... try using a different benchmark software just to make sure...
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-12-2005, 12:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

seems like the only difference between the two scores are the drivers for the video card...

Other than that it all looks very similar (except score. of course)

Try CPU-Z click here
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 06-12-2005, 12:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Ramza_Beoulve
Default

I'm pretty sure this is accurate. The reason I ran AM3 again was to see if I had some problem. I expected I would, because I was recently having lower FPS in games.

*edit *

From what I see in CPUz, everything looks normal, here's a screenshot

CPUz screenshot
Ramza_Beoulve is offline  
Old 06-12-2005, 01:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Ramza_Beoulve
Default

Mmm, this thread sure hit the bottom fast ^_^
Ramza_Beoulve is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 10:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to Ramza_Beoulve
Default

dang :|
Ramza_Beoulve is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 10:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well if someone said your drivers were different, then go back to your previous drivers........make sure you don't a virus or spyware that's sucking up CPU cycles
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.