CPU Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2004, 04:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 97
Default CPU Problem

Ok I bought a new motherboard, cpu, ram and a case i hooked it all up , It booted fine but when i went into system properties it says my cpu was an AMD 2000 XP+ running at 1.53 Ghz

Here is the list of my purchases:

Asus A7N8X Motherboard
AMD 2600 XP+
512mb DDR 3200
Scorpian ATX Case 420W

Does anyone no how to configure my comp so it will pick up the proper processer it detects it as AMD 2000 XP+ when it is a AMD 2600 Xp+ CPU chip
__________________

DeadMan789 is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 04:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

BIOS upgrade!
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 04:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 97
Default

How would i do that without f**king it up?
__________________
System:
AMD Athlon 2600 Xp+ @ 2.2gHz
ASUS A7NZX
Seagate 300GB SPG
LG GSA-4120B 12X Super Multi DVD RW
1GB DDR 3200
GeForce 6600 OC GT 128MB
Nvidia nForce 2 Ultra 400
DeadMan789 is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 04:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

u can at least enter wndows?

thre is software utility that comes with Asus Motherboard, , its ON-line easy BIOS upgrade, it'll flash your old BIOS, and will replace with new,

sometimes old BIOS is unable to detect new clock speeds.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 04:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 97
Default

ok so all i do is put in the cd and follow the instructions?
__________________
System:
AMD Athlon 2600 Xp+ @ 2.2gHz
ASUS A7NZX
Seagate 300GB SPG
LG GSA-4120B 12X Super Multi DVD RW
1GB DDR 3200
GeForce 6600 OC GT 128MB
Nvidia nForce 2 Ultra 400
DeadMan789 is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 04:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

yup
it'll,install a BIOS upgrade, once u openntht program, it will ask u whre to get the BIOS upgrade? like from internet / or from file

if u dont have reliable internet, better is to download file seperately, and then give file link to upgrade BIOS.

else upgrade it from internet.

this utility has made bios upgrade so easy, that even novice can do that.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 04:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 97
Default

Ok I looked in the manual and I now no how to upgrade it but i am not sure which bios to download

A7N8X2.0
Rev 2.XX
Bios Rev 1007

I have no idea what to download wat is PSB?
__________________
System:
AMD Athlon 2600 Xp+ @ 2.2gHz
ASUS A7NZX
Seagate 300GB SPG
LG GSA-4120B 12X Super Multi DVD RW
1GB DDR 3200
GeForce 6600 OC GT 128MB
Nvidia nForce 2 Ultra 400
DeadMan789 is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 05:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 97
Default

The site with all the Bios Dl's is http://www.asus.com/support/download...7N8X&Type=BIOS
__________________
System:
AMD Athlon 2600 Xp+ @ 2.2gHz
ASUS A7NZX
Seagate 300GB SPG
LG GSA-4120B 12X Super Multi DVD RW
1GB DDR 3200
GeForce 6600 OC GT 128MB
Nvidia nForce 2 Ultra 400
DeadMan789 is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 05:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

it must be PCB its the upgrades that comes on same board.

let me know 2 thinsg:

exact model of your board? as A7N8X has 4 models

PCB version, u can find it on:

if u open the Casing, in between PCI slots, whre its written A7N8X, you'll fine near it, written PCB cersion, tell em that, and i'll tell u wht to download.

and I am on Asus as well, I know all their stuff, i have used A7N8X as well, thanks anyway for writing the download site of asus.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 05:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 97
Default

Ok Besdie it it says REV 2.00 I am using the A7N8X Board
__________________

__________________
System:
AMD Athlon 2600 Xp+ @ 2.2gHz
ASUS A7NZX
Seagate 300GB SPG
LG GSA-4120B 12X Super Multi DVD RW
1GB DDR 3200
GeForce 6600 OC GT 128MB
Nvidia nForce 2 Ultra 400
DeadMan789 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.