CPU overheating? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2004, 02:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 50
Send a message via AIM to r1y23
Default

im thinking of just drilling holes in the side of my case because it works well when the side panel is off.
__________________

__________________
MY RIG:
AMD X2 3800+
1.5 GB RAM
Radeon X600 AIW 256 mb
2 80gb sata HDD (striped)
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Sony Internal 16X DVD+R / duel layer
Creative audigy zs 2 gamer
Floppy drive (black)
Gigabyte GH-PCU21 cooling fan
--Kingwin KT-424-S-WM Silver Aluminum Case--
r1y23 is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 05:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

well the easy thing for you to do is to just drill a 8cm or a 9.2 cm hole (80mm or 92mm) right above the cpu on the side panel so the hole points right at the cpu.. and then just buy a quality case fan such as a aerocool x-cooler or a vantec tornado and just install it using the screws that come with it and a drill with the proper bit
__________________

__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 06:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 50
Send a message via AIM to r1y23
Default

well i have a window there can i do that and still make the case look cool.
__________________
MY RIG:
AMD X2 3800+
1.5 GB RAM
Radeon X600 AIW 256 mb
2 80gb sata HDD (striped)
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Sony Internal 16X DVD+R / duel layer
Creative audigy zs 2 gamer
Floppy drive (black)
Gigabyte GH-PCU21 cooling fan
--Kingwin KT-424-S-WM Silver Aluminum Case--
r1y23 is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 02:32 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

yup instead of a vantec tornado or something get a led fan.. (one with lights and clear blades) .. not as much power but itll still help
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 04:13 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Temps in the 40's and mid 50's are fine for AMD's, They can usually take up to 65C pretty easily, but I personally dont like it up there. My 2400+ XP would be at 64C idle and it was like that for months. It probably was just your ram giving you troubles. When you get the new ram try some memory diagnostics. Your temps that you posted dont seem high enough to cause the system to shut down unless you have its shut down temperature at that temp
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 12:35 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 50
Send a message via AIM to r1y23
Default

well turns out the cpu was fine it was the GPU that was over heating and it just shut down. so im gonna carve a cool design in the glass of the case to get more air flow. do you guys think that will work?
__________________

__________________
MY RIG:
AMD X2 3800+
1.5 GB RAM
Radeon X600 AIW 256 mb
2 80gb sata HDD (striped)
A7N8X-E Deluxe
Sony Internal 16X DVD+R / duel layer
Creative audigy zs 2 gamer
Floppy drive (black)
Gigabyte GH-PCU21 cooling fan
--Kingwin KT-424-S-WM Silver Aluminum Case--
r1y23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.