cpu which one? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2005, 08:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default cpu which one?

would i be better off getting a dual core processor 2.8ghz with 64bit support this one

or a not dual core 64bit with ht 3.0ghz this one

which one would is better? i do alot of things with photoshop and play alot of demanding games. is dual core better than HT?

also if i were to go amd what is the best one i can get for under 250? link please
__________________

__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 08:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well I would go for the dual core, if your a hardcore gamer and replace your hardware alot, AMD would be better. However AMD does not make dual core proessors in your price range.

This is what AMD offers in it's single core for 250$
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103494

For single threaded applications like gaming, it will kick the crap out of the intel dual core's and a 3.0ghz would easily subcome to it's power.

However, in the future when we are all dual core, you would notice the intel doing alot better.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 09:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

i think imma go with the dual core for 2 reasons, ive read an article that seems to make the most sense and easy to understand. and also to say to your friends "yeah i have a dual core, nothin much"
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 09:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS

However, in the future when we are all dual core, you would notice the intel doing alot better.

What makes you say that? You dont think that AMD will own Intel on this one?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 09:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
What makes you say that? You dont think that AMD will own Intel on this one?
Right now for his price range only Intel offers dual core.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.