CPU and Memory Speeds Relationship - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2004, 05:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
Default CPU and Memory Speeds Relationship

Greetings,

Ok, I have a A7N8X Asus mobo with an Athlon XP 2200 processor (1.8ghz).

In my bios, I have the options to change the cpu external frequency to 100, 133, 166, or 200 mhz.

I also have a 512 stick of pc 2100 (266) and a 512 stick of pc 2700 (333).

Should my bios be changed to a particular setting to get the best results? When I added the second stick (2700), my computer seemed to lag hard.

This stuff is prolly basic to you guys but I don't know what my settings should be for best performance...thank you dearly.
__________________

zstopa is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 05:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Set your external frequentcy to 133 to match your memory speed.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 05:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
Default

thx
zstopa is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 05:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

U might also be able to overclock it, though I am not sure you will get better per4mance.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-19-2004, 05:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah the reason you got that lag is more than likely because you had an extreme bottleneck in your system from having a CPU with a certain FSB mixed with two different rates of RAM, I just got my PC2700 RAM up from 166 last night to 200 so yeah....got my PC2700 running at PC3200 speeds at 2.5-3-3-6 and it's just samsung generic RAM lol, but it's holding out like a freakin champ...the other stick I have in there is PC3200 but it's rated at 3-3-3-8 so it's pretty crazy it's holding 2.5-3-3-6
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-20-2004, 01:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
Default

hey, thanks for the reply, but what exactly is your recomendation?
zstopa is offline  
Old 11-20-2004, 01:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well what kind of stick of RAM is it and do you know it's stock timings? That'll give us a better idea of the quality of stick you're working with
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 01:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 12
Default

u have 2 put ur CPU ext Freq on 133 ..it is the standard 4 this cpu cos the 2200 AMD freq is 266..
when u put 2 RAM sticks with differant freq ... they will work with the lower 1 ...& u can run the 333 if the 2 sticks r 333 ...
__________________

BROKENWINGS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.