CPU help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2005, 06:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267
Default CPU help

For the XP 3000 CPU's, what's the better core the Barton or a thoroughbred? WHat are the differences on this CPU?

Are there any comparable Pentium CPU's for around the same price as a XP 3000 that I should look at also?

This is mainly a gaming machine.

Mr. LL is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 06:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769

Athlon Xp 64 or just plain 3000+?

Sprooty is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 06:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433

If ur building a new gaming machine, u should go for an Athlon 64 venice/san diego. About XPs, i believe Bartons, as i do believe they are pretty good OCers.

-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 07:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006

Bartons are better.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 07:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

you will not find as pentium that is comparable in price or games performance to an AMD. go with the athlon64. 3200+ and 3400+ are pretty cheap and effective.
Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 08:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267

Cool, I am just upgrading the CPU. Eventually I will do a major upgrade and get a new board and a 64 CPU but for now I need to stick with a socket A CPU.
Mr. LL is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 08:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477

LoTeX is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 10:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

I'm pretty sure the 3000+ Barton has a 400MHz bus speed so it'd be the better choice.
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-04-2005, 06:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267

Cool, looks like I will get the barton.

Mr. LL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.