CPU is getting hot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2005, 03:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 14
Default CPU is getting hot

Two weeks ago when I built this 2.0 P4 my CPU temp ran about 110f now its running about 122F and higher until it shut off in the middle of my HALO game , the mobo is a Intel D845GERG2 not overclocked,
cpu heat sink is a Global-Win cooler up to a 3.2 runnig at 4600rpms,Video card is a GForce4 TI 4200 in a HP case with a case fan in the rear and I also have a rear slot fan? so I have a total of 4 fans running and its still running hot is it me or is it too HOT and yes I put thermal compound on it
Any help would be great
__________________

Roaddog is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 03:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

on the top of this site theres a row of little blue boxes... one says search... type in cpu cooling on the search and sift around the results
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 03:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

you might have put too much thermal paste on

there's few posts here (use the search tool) that explained the right amount of thermal paste to apply

applying too much won't allow the hsf to get to the cpu efficiently which causes the overheating
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 12:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 14
Default

OK so I read all the past posting and cleaned and put the right amount of compound on again but now I have no video at all???
changed monitors and video cards but no luck still no video.
what went wrong did my mobo or cpu die?
Roaddog is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 12:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

did you schock something inside???
Static_11 is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 01:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Dont think I did, I grounded myself on the metal case before working on it.
Roaddog is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 02:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Hey found out the problem, Dimm slot 0 stopped working ???
The mobo was a used board from a friend and my scrren use to flicker and it stopped doing that now, i guess that slot was dieing for some time know.
Thanks again
P.S CPU Temp is now 96F
__________________

Roaddog is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.