Cpu Fsb Speed And Memory Speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2004, 07:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 318
Default Cpu Fsb Speed And Memory Speed

Ok i have a big question but before pardon my spelling and my grammer Ok...i was wondering if i were to get ram that is pc3200 400mhz and get a cpu like the 2800+ "barton" at the fsb of 333mhz, Wuld the ram run at the 333mhz while having the potential at runnning at 400 mhz but the cpu is declocking it OR will the ram run at 400mhz will the cpu will run at 333mhz. I need this help because i dunno if i shuld go kingston hyper x 2x512 pc2700 333mhz or kingston hyper x 2x512 pc3200 400 mhz. Thx for ne input guyz Also my mobo the Asus A7n8x-X supports 333mhz and 400 mhz ramand i wuld like to know if my mobo is a stable one for a system and i do not need ne extra features on it but to be stable,support ddr ram and the speed of 333mhz or 400 mhz and to have decent onboard sound. THX FOR ALL INPUTS AGAIN. ALSO THE MOBO HAS an Nforce2 chip and its a good price for me 104 cdn
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]
  • ANTEC SONATA QUIET CHASSIS ATX 3X5.25 6X3.5 PIANO BLACK 380W TRUEPOWER
  • AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ PROCESSOR S754 2.0GHZ 512KB L2 CACHE RETAIL BOX
  • MSI K8T NEO-FSR ATHLON 64 S754 K8T800 DDR AGP 5PCI SATA RAID 1000LAN SOUND
  • OCZ DUAL CHANNEL OPTIMIZED 2X512MB DDR PC3200 CAS2 W/ COPPER HEAT SPREADER
  • SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 SERIAL ATA 120GB EIDE 7200RPM 9MS 3.5LP
  • 1.44MB BLACK 3.5IN FLOPPY DRIVE
  • ATI RADEON X800 PRO AGP8X 256MB DDR3 VGA DVI-I TV OUT RETAIL BOX
  • LITEON 52X32X52 ATAPI IDE BLACK CD-REWRITER SMART-BURN OEM W/ SOFTWARE
  • LITEON BLACK 16X DVD-ROM INT E-IDE OEM W/ SW DVD PLAYER
  • [/size]
cell567 is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 07:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Well first off, yes your right in thinking that if the FSB is 333mhz, that the RAM can only run as fast as 333mhz even if it's DDR400

I reckon the reason why the Mobo supports up to DDR400 is cause it can handle a 3200+ that has a 400mhz FSB
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 08:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 318
Default

well liek half the ppl i asked said, that the memory will run at 333mhz but as a potential to run at 400 mhz if i...overclock. And then the other half said that it don matter of the fsb. Now im in a BUST BIG TIME!
__________________
[size=0.5]
  • ANTEC SONATA QUIET CHASSIS ATX 3X5.25 6X3.5 PIANO BLACK 380W TRUEPOWER
  • AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ PROCESSOR S754 2.0GHZ 512KB L2 CACHE RETAIL BOX
  • MSI K8T NEO-FSR ATHLON 64 S754 K8T800 DDR AGP 5PCI SATA RAID 1000LAN SOUND
  • OCZ DUAL CHANNEL OPTIMIZED 2X512MB DDR PC3200 CAS2 W/ COPPER HEAT SPREADER
  • SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 SERIAL ATA 120GB EIDE 7200RPM 9MS 3.5LP
  • 1.44MB BLACK 3.5IN FLOPPY DRIVE
  • ATI RADEON X800 PRO AGP8X 256MB DDR3 VGA DVI-I TV OUT RETAIL BOX
  • LITEON 52X32X52 ATAPI IDE BLACK CD-REWRITER SMART-BURN OEM W/ SOFTWARE
  • LITEON BLACK 16X DVD-ROM INT E-IDE OEM W/ SW DVD PLAYER
  • [/size]
cell567 is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 08:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

no, if your processor is running 333Mhz your memory will not be underclcoked. it will still run 400Mhz. processor and memory have independant FSB, they do not have to synch.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 08:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 318
Default

This all the input i can get
__________________
[size=0.5]
  • ANTEC SONATA QUIET CHASSIS ATX 3X5.25 6X3.5 PIANO BLACK 380W TRUEPOWER
  • AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ PROCESSOR S754 2.0GHZ 512KB L2 CACHE RETAIL BOX
  • MSI K8T NEO-FSR ATHLON 64 S754 K8T800 DDR AGP 5PCI SATA RAID 1000LAN SOUND
  • OCZ DUAL CHANNEL OPTIMIZED 2X512MB DDR PC3200 CAS2 W/ COPPER HEAT SPREADER
  • SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 SERIAL ATA 120GB EIDE 7200RPM 9MS 3.5LP
  • 1.44MB BLACK 3.5IN FLOPPY DRIVE
  • ATI RADEON X800 PRO AGP8X 256MB DDR3 VGA DVI-I TV OUT RETAIL BOX
  • LITEON 52X32X52 ATAPI IDE BLACK CD-REWRITER SMART-BURN OEM W/ SOFTWARE
  • LITEON BLACK 16X DVD-ROM INT E-IDE OEM W/ SW DVD PLAYER
  • [/size]
cell567 is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 08:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 318
Default

so is it worth to spend the xtra bucks for...pc3200 ???
__________________
[size=0.5]
  • ANTEC SONATA QUIET CHASSIS ATX 3X5.25 6X3.5 PIANO BLACK 380W TRUEPOWER
  • AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ PROCESSOR S754 2.0GHZ 512KB L2 CACHE RETAIL BOX
  • MSI K8T NEO-FSR ATHLON 64 S754 K8T800 DDR AGP 5PCI SATA RAID 1000LAN SOUND
  • OCZ DUAL CHANNEL OPTIMIZED 2X512MB DDR PC3200 CAS2 W/ COPPER HEAT SPREADER
  • SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 SERIAL ATA 120GB EIDE 7200RPM 9MS 3.5LP
  • 1.44MB BLACK 3.5IN FLOPPY DRIVE
  • ATI RADEON X800 PRO AGP8X 256MB DDR3 VGA DVI-I TV OUT RETAIL BOX
  • LITEON 52X32X52 ATAPI IDE BLACK CD-REWRITER SMART-BURN OEM W/ SOFTWARE
  • LITEON BLACK 16X DVD-ROM INT E-IDE OEM W/ SW DVD PLAYER
  • [/size]
cell567 is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 06:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205
Default

Yeah go for it. You can set the memory to 333 or 400 benchmark em both. That board is great by the way. Lots of OC options and ASUS is a quality company.
__________________
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 04:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cell567
so is it worth to spend the xtra bucks for...pc3200 ???
IMO, no because its more effiecient to run them FSB and Memory synchronously
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 04:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

yes, overclock your CPU FSB as high as it goes and reduce your mutiplier. pc3200 and pc2700 cost about the same......
so why get slower memory. memory can be underclocked and sometimes they are by default by motherboard.

Quote:
Originally posted by cell567
so is it worth to spend the xtra bucks for...pc3200 ???
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-29-2004, 01:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Your Barton 2800 will probably be multiplier locked. If so the only way to overclock is by bumping up the fsb. (lock the pci/agp frequency of your bios allows). While you need only pc2700 for 333mHz fsb in theory, it won't hurt to get faster ram. It will help in the overclocking and allow a future 400 fsb processor for the guy you sell it to when you buy a socket 939 board.
__________________

Grok is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.