CPU.......Dual core or Not??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2005, 01:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Default CPU.......Dual core or Not???

Greetings all

Well I'm done as much research as I can handle and I can't make up my mind.

I'm in the procces of building a new puter and I just don't know what to get.

I would like a dual core but latley I've been asking my self If I really need one. I Want a very fast system that's a give. I would do some video editing and some gaming and backing up my dvd library. I usually stay on one task at a time.

That bieng said: in the dual core chips,
I'm looking at the Athlon 64 x2 3800+ 939 socket and the Pentium D 820 775 socket

Does anyone here have any exerience with these chips? Am I looking at something that is over rated?

Maybe I should get at single chip processor, it seems like I can get more speed on a single chip for about the same amount of money.

maybe I'm not seeing something, I am still learning about computers

Take the AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 4000+ socket 939 single chip
* Processor: AMD Athlon™ 64
* Model: 4000+
* P/N (PIB): ADA4000ASBOX
* Stepping: CG
* Frequency: 2400Mhz
* HT Speed: 2000
* Voltage: 1.50V
* Max Temp: 70°C
* Thermal Power: 89W
* L1 Cache: 128KB
* L2 Cache: 1MB
* CMOS Technology: 130nm SOI
* Socket: Socket 939





And nowthe Athlon 64 x2 64 3800+ socket 939

* Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core
* Model: 3800+
* Ordering P/N (PIB) ADA3800BVBOX
* Frequency 2000Mhz
* HT Speed 2000
* Voltage 1.35V-1.40
* Max Temp 71°C
* Thermal Power 89W
* L1 Cache 128KB + 128KB
* L2 Cache 512KB + 512KB
* CMOS Technology 90nm SOI
* Socket Socket 939

They are about the same price so which is a better chip for a person that wants a fast computer and is not so worried about multitasking.
I'm confused, it seems like the single chip would be faster??????

How about that Pentium D 820
# Processor - Intel® Pentium® D Processor
# Processor Number - 820
# Architecture - 90 nm technology
# L2 Cache - 2x1MB
# Clock Speed - 2.80 GHz
# Front Side Bus - 800 MHz
# Execute Disable Bit - Can help to prevent some classes of viruses and worms that exploit buffer overrun vulnerabilities thus helping to improve the overall security of the system.
# Intel® Extended Memory 64 Technology - Processors with Intel EM64T allow platforms to access larger amounts of memory and will support 64-bit extended operating systems.
# Dual-Core - Provides two execution cores in one physical processor allowing the platform to do more in less time while enjoying smooth interaction with your PC.


Compare that to the Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHz E , 1MB 800 FSB Socket 478 Prescott Hyper Threading Bare Processor .

They are also about the same price??????


So I guess I will leave you with this.
If I were using my computer on mostly single tasks, Will I be throwing away money getting a dual core?

Thank you very much for reading my post.
Any info would be greatly appreciate it.

Bobby
__________________

bobbyray is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 01:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Go with the AMD dual core, When you put an AMD up against and intel for gaming, AMD pwns.

Sorry If I didn't read anything else in your post. Just felt like, stoping you from wasting your money on an Intel. That was to close for comfort.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 02:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 38
Default

AMD x2 3800+ all the way, just read this:
http://anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=2484
wotter is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 05:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

go for the AMD. they're always better for games, and the dual cores are also great in video editing too
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-14-2005, 01:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Default

Thanks for all your opinion

I made up my mind and will post results when build is complete.

BTW. I went with X2 3800
bobbyray is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 11:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 327
Default

im getting that exact CPU...i hope it goes well. costs about $500 australian
__________________

__________________
gimli of gloin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.