Cpu Choices.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2005, 03:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default Cpu Choices..

hey guys please before u post anything make shure u dont say anything biased.. i just need a honest answer .. aite guys well i have NOT had good expericnes with amd so far.. sigh this pathetic 2.4ghz pentium 4 outbeat my amd athlon 2800+ so i was wondering if i should upgrade to 3200+ or go completely to a Pentium 4 3.0E ghz. iono guys im pooped... theyer bout same price but i just need somthing very stable !! and amd has not proven that me.. dont get me wrong, it rocks, just not my socks
__________________

__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 04:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 50
Default

i often put together pc's for friends and so far amd has not once put me down. so if it were me i'd go for the amd.
__________________

foxhound is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 04:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 68
Default

Personally, I'd go with AMD.
__________________
Talk is based on the assumption that you can get somewhere if you keep putting one word after another
Deathwalker is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 05:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

what is the comp mainly for? workstation, gaming or a mix of both? if it were my choice i would take the 3200+.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 05:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

mix of both but the thing is, im only gona play likw one or 2 games, im not into FPS so much no more, just WoW and MMORPG and those are cpu/ram CRAZY
__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 05:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 286
Default

also, is it possible to build a comp for 700-800 thats better then my current one?

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 2800+ Newcastle
Motherboard: ASUS K8N nForce 3 250-gb
RAM: DDR SDRAM PC3200 PQI 512mb
VIDEO: 128mb NVIDIA GEFORCE 5500 FX
Hardive: 40gb 7200rpm Maxtor
__________________
foreverxyoung is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 05:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

sorry i can't help with the monetary issue because as it is i'm not so good about giving estimates let alone currency conversion. i still say take the 3200+ in case you change your mind and end up playing more games. but if you are going to be using the rig for more multimedia and general desktop applications you are probably better off with the p4
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 05:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

You definitely need another 512mb of ram. You'll see a lot of speed increase there.
__________________

__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.