CPU Chip Dieing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2004, 11:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Default CPU Chip Dieing

If you recall my current computer (see "My PC SPECS" post a few weeks ago) you know it's not the greatest. Guess what i found out today?

I noticed the cpu heatsink on my 400mhz AMD was feeling a little hot over the last few weeks. Every week or so it would seem to feel even hotter than before. Amazingly it keeps on trucking, although it locks up a heck of a lot (up to 15+ times a day). Well, the last few days the temp on the cpu heatsink was very extremely hot... so hot that if you put your finger to it... it'd almost burn you! I noticed the pc acting a little different... not staying active more than a few hours at a time. I checked the temp on the cpu today. This thing is cooking!

It's operating at 72 C/161 F!!! The cpu is overheating. It's been in use for about 6 years now so it's time has come to be put to pasture. I'm amazed the thing even works at that temp. It'll only stay workable for maybe an hour or two before it locks up and i have to let it cool down.

I'm thinking about reviving the system, for use with linux. Anyone know where i can get any amd k6-2 400mhz chips? In good shape?

Poor chip. I could prob fry an egg on it if i wanted!
__________________

Ares is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 11:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 424
Send a message via AIM to Erik Send a message via Yahoo to Erik
Default

I think if you got some Artic Silver with a decent Heatsink/Fan that you could get another 2-4 years out of the processor easy.
__________________

Erik is offline  
Old 03-22-2004, 12:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Default

Well i have arctic silver but i'm not about to use it for a 400mhz amd. It's for the new pc's i'm building. An amd 400mhz shouldn't even need it (new). The chip's seen its better days and it's not really worth buying a better fan for a chip that should only cost me 20 bucks at most. I think it's newegg that's selling a 500mhz for 20 bucks.

I could always upgrade the bios and throw in the 500 mhz, but for what i'm gonna do with it, id rather just find another 400 mhz chip and be done with it. We'll see i guess.
__________________
The only \"intuitive\" interface is the nipple. After that, it\'s all learned. ;)
Ares is offline  
Old 03-22-2004, 11:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 48
Default

dont dispose it, whether or not the CPU runs slow, its still a good CPU. if you dont want it, then send it to me - i have a collection of old cpu's that ive had over the past and i admire them, because at some point, they were thought to be the fastest on the market
KingBobCat is offline  
Old 03-22-2004, 12:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Default

I found a couple for sale online. I'm gonna get a few replacements for this one and hopefully that'll help this pc out a bit.

I really don't think the amd 400mhz runs slow at all. Not like other 400mhz cpus. I have a friend who has a 1.5 gig intel chip (i think it's a celeron) and this computer can compete with him anyday. I've never thought of the 400mhz as slow. I think it's quite fast... for 400mhz! It definitely appears to run much faster than it's rated to be, atleast to me it does.

If you want it, talk to me after i get the replacements in.
__________________
The only \"intuitive\" interface is the nipple. After that, it\'s all learned. ;)
Ares is offline  
Old 03-22-2004, 09:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 48
Default

alright.. because i'm a collector of old parts i just like to have them around my room to remind me of how far we've progressed in technology.
KingBobCat is offline  
Old 03-22-2004, 09:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 297
Send a message via AIM to BlindApex
Default

i have one in my old comp :P damn piece of $#i+
__________________
[size=2]
AMD 64 3200+ Socket 939
DFI LanParty nF4 SLI-DR
BFG GeForce 6600GT OC
WD Caviar 200GB SATA-II
Thermaltake Venus 12 HSF
CoolerMaster Wavemaster Case

|P|A|I|N|T|B|A|L|L|
my anti-drug
BlindApex is offline  
Old 03-22-2004, 09:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

Heh, I think I still have a 40mhz CPU sitting in my basement from about 7 years ago.
__________________

__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.