Which CPU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2004, 12:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 31
Default Which CPU?

Which CPU should I get the AMD 64 3200+ with Clawhammer core or the AMD 64 3400+ with Newcastle core?
__________________

Bouryokudan is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 12:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

the 3400+ is 400MHz faster, therefore, i go with that
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 12:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 31
Default

Yeah, but the Clawhammer core has 1MB L2 Cache and the Newcastle core has 512KB L2 Cache.
Bouryokudan is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 12:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

isnt the 3200+ for DTR notebooks? i would get that if you're going to overclock, but 3400+ is good if you're not going to oc
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 12:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 31
Default

Well I heard you can OC the 3400+ to be have the same speed as the 3700+. But that's just what I heard.
Bouryokudan is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 06:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Get the 3400+, because it is almost as fast as the FX-53 No buts about it, the 3400+ is alot faster then the 3200+
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 07:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

they will both perform VERY well, just get what u can afford, unless they are the same price ( havnt checked ). I think the 3200 will oc more than the 3400, and the cache is 1 mb instead of 512. Up to u tho, they both are good.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 07:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

3400
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 07:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

haha major i like that lil statement at bottom of ur sig, hehe. im still thinking about what to do to make sig smaller.

Bout the rpocs, ul be satisfied with either. If u dont feel comfy bout ocing, get the 3400.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-31-2004, 07:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

why not make a copy of my sig (again)?...yes good statement huh lol
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.