cost for pc repair - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-13-2005, 02:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default cost for pc repair

Just am currently fixing a computer for someone that i work with. The problem was that the winsocket was screwed up and you could not access the internet. so now that i fixed the problem he told me to let him know how much he owed me and this is the first time i actaully have done this for someone and have no idea what to charge. It was not a hard fix once i figured out what was wrong with it but i have probably spent a min of 2 hours with talking to his internet tech support, researching the internet, doing updates(sp2) and so on. what would you guys charge?
__________________

benzimm86 is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 02:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 23
Default

figure out an hourly rate, $10/hr?
__________________

dudedrew18 is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 02:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

do you like the guy? I ask cause if you do give him a great deal like say 20 bucks an hour, if not then go outragous like 40 or 50, although for 2 hours 100 bucks doesnt seem like much...
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 02:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

i meet the guy once i got hooked up with this deal through someone else that i see frequently at work
__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 02:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Keep your prices low, and you'll get more business.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 02:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

it comes down to what is your time worth? Once you know that you can charge him appropriatly. I charged 20/hr when I was still a noob, but the local shops charged 50+ so ppl thought it was a great deal. Plus the shops always do other **** on top to make it take longer, like virus scans and stuff that they could just tell the user to do themselves and is not realated to the problem.

Call a shop and ask what they charge...
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 03:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

like above mentioned, low price brings more customer....

It really surprise me to see Future Shop charge 40 CAD for installing a brand new CD rom >< it is outrageous!!!
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 03:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah i got my friend to install my CD-ROM drive

- The jumpers, a computer n00b did 40$ worth of work

I would charge him liek 20$ if he's cool, 50$ if he's not.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 05:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Depends how long you took. I charge $75 /hr and people pay it with a smile
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-13-2005, 05:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hkfnstang
It really surprise me to see Future Shop charge 40 CAD for installing a brand new CD rom >< it is outrageous!!!

I was in futureshop a little while back and the sale's man was trying to sell a 9600xt to a guy and his kid,He was telling him it was 1 of the top 3 card's for gaming right now I turned around and started laughing at him and told him he better learn some more about computer's I told the guy if he wanted a good card to go for the 6600gt and the sale's man piped up and said they had that too but alot more money I pulled out a card for another computer place and told the guy to go there The sale's man was pretty pissed that he just lost his sale because of me
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.