Corsair XMS PRO: From 512 Mb to 1 GB... More Frames In FarCry? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2004, 04:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Question Corsair XMS PRO: From 512 Mb to 1 GB... More Frames In FarCry?

I currently have 512 Mb of RAM. The Specs are in sig (it says 1 Gb) but I haven't recieved the other 512 Mb yet.

I was wondering. If I went from 512 Mb to 1 Gb... Would I get more frames in games like FarCry? I am already running it with EVERYTHING on the highest. It runs very well, but I loose some frames at some intense parts. Will an additional 512 Mb (of the same RAM I have) make a noticable difference?

Thx for your time! I appreciate it.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 04:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

It should improve the performance alot especially if you do dual channel.
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 04:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

I have a 754...: No dual channel.
ag3 is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 05:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 88
Default

Loading times will be quicker, but sorry to say that I doubt it will improve in game-real time performance.
Pac0 is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 05:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

everything will just run more smoother
__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 05:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Smooth enough to spend $280 (canadian)?
ag3 is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 05:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 88
Default

I don't think so.
Pac0 is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 05:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

It probably won't improve real-time fps... I would suggest overclocking your graphics card slightly to achieve that.

1GB RAM will allow you to play for hours without performance loss over time.
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 06:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

youre all ready running enough for that game so it may help but if it does it wont help much and loading times are more a result of hard drive than ram. if you had dual channel it would probably be a noticeable difference but without it probably not much. of course more ram never hurts.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 12:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default

if you have the money, get an x800 when the prices fall( or when it is fully released lol)
__________________

__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.