corsair xms - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2005, 06:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to soup lightning
Default corsair xms

i was going to order this ram later
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145450
but one of the reviews said that it was not compatable w/ the dfi lanparty ultrad. is that right?
__________________

soup lightning is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 06:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

I can't imagine that RAM not being compatible with the Ultra-D. Perhaps that one reviewer had bad RAM or a bad motherboard, I don't know. I have RAM very similar to that and love it.
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 06:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

I haven't got a Ultra D but my Lanparty wouldn't install XP when I had XMS in dual channel, took a stick out and it worked then put the other in after the installation.
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 06:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Hrm, that shouldn't affect it. Thats what I planned on gettin 'XMS and Lanparty Ultra-D'.
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 07:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Corsair isn't that great anyway. Diablo has an Ultra-D board and I think he said something about the XMS not working with it as well.

http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820218062

That RAM is cheap but will OC well on most occasions (I say that because OC'ing is always luck of the draw) but if you aren't going to OC then it won't matter anyway, but with the Ultra-D board you can give that RAM the juice it needs to really shine
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 08:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to soup lightning
Default

im not really into ocing. dont know how

so would i be better off getting a different mobo. was looking at the asus a8v. it has everything i need and is almost the same price as the ultra d
soup lightning is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 08:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

ive got Corsair XMS Pro, and its decent, but not great. OCs okay, but not nearly as good as other stuff
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 08:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Soup - personally I hate ASUS....a lot of people like them and I'm sure it'll be fine for stock uses....I mainly hate it for OC'ing plus their tech support is crap....DFI has great tech support and two of the reps are even members who frequently post at www.dfi-street.com so it's really easy to get help.

The DFI Ultra-D board has a LOT of options in the BIOS, primarily the RAM settings, so it can be overwhelming for someone who's not used to messing around in the BIOS.

That TwinMOS I linked will save you $40 and will perform just as good....it has a cas latency of 2.5 instead of 2 like the corsair you want, but trust me the Cas latency doesn't play a significant role in performance...the two middle numbers do and they are the same.


Ultra-D + the TwinMOS I linked would be a good combo while saving you some cash.
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 08:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

yea, the twinmos are a very good choice

oh btw, the DFI board hates corsair and kingston value ram, not the XMS series
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 08:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dhw200
ive got Corsair XMS Pro, and its decent, but not great. OCs okay, but not nearly as good as other stuff
What would you recommend?
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.