Corsair Ram? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2005, 05:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 115
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII
read somewhere that 4x512 will actually lower your speed
As interested as we all are in what you have herd you should phrase that more like a question if you don't know.

Personally i don't know, so can anyone answer that?
__________________

McKlaxxhammer is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 05:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII
read somewhere that 4x512 will actually lower your speed
I heard that rumor before as well. But I have ran benchmarks and there appears to be no difference. Of course if you use something very memory intensive you will obviously see better performance. But I have not seen decreased performance on things that use less like 3dmark.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 05:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

hey garra what is anot her good company of Ram because I was thinking a bout getting 2 512 XMS with 2 latancy and timings of 2-3-3-6. http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820145420
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 05:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 115
Default

well, i guess if 1g isn't enough for you then having slightly less than 2g couldn't be worst
McKlaxxhammer is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 05:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 115
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GrimReaper23
hey garra what is anot her good company of Ram because I was thinking a bout getting 2 512 XMS with 2 latancy and timings of 2-3-3-6. http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820145420
I like kingston alot, probably second after corsair in my books
McKlaxxhammer is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 05:46 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Well you could get OCZ or Gskill but that ram for 1gb is like $300. Personally I think that stuff is only for heavy overclockers. Corsair should be fine if you don't want to spend a boatload.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 05:48 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

You are fine with the Corsair ValueRam.
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 05:55 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

do they use cheaper parts or something?
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 06:06 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Or maybe cheaper labor *evil grin*

lol @ poor phillipino kids working fingers bloody for 2 cents an hour
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 06:07 PM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 115
Default

Value ram doesnt have a heat case and is not meant for over clocking.
Other than that the difference isnt too noticable between value and standard.
But i always feel a sence of power behind my ram.
__________________

McKlaxxhammer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.