Corsair low latency worth £30? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2004, 06:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default Corsair low latency worth £30?

im gonna buy myself sum new ram next week im looking at the

Corsair 512MB DDR XMS3200C2 Pro CAS2 (£100)

or

Corsair 512MB DDR XMS3200LL Low Latency Pro CAS2 (£130)

is the lower latency worth the extra £30. i can use newegg so i cant find anything cheaper than this.
__________________

__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 07:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

The XMS3200C2 is more than enough... There will not be a noticable difference between the C2 and the LL at all. The C2 is already pushing the limits of DDR memory, and is way faster than any application requires.

Both the C2 and the LL have the same CAS latency. However, on AMD systems, the C2 is (2.5-3-3-6) as apose to (2-3-3-6). That is really the only difference.

I was faced with the same decission, and I went with the C2.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 10:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the fastest timings are 2-2-2-5, in Corsair's PC3200XL RAM
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 10:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

CAS latencies do not mean anything when comparing memory. The newer memory has much higher timings, however the insanely high clock speeds make up for it!

I'm sure you knew that though... IMO you are *one* of the most reliable on this forum when it comes down to what's right.
ag3 is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 04:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Corsair's PC3200 RAM with 2-2-2-5 timings outperformed the 466MHZ modules
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.