core duo and core 2 duo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2007, 09:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 31
Default core duo and core 2 duo

I've searched the forums for a bit, but i couldnt find any topic related to the differences between core duo and core 2 duo. So, it would be great if someone could enlighten me on how these two types processors are different... aside from core 2 duo being newer
__________________

aricav05 is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 09:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Core Duo, I believe is for laptops, in replacement of the Pentium M. And Core 2 Duo, is for desktops, replacing Intel's Pentium brand.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 09:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

nah we just got an order of dell optiplex PC's with core duos in them not core 2's that i gotta set up.

**EDIT** on intel it says they are for laptops, why dells shipping them in pc's idk but glad i dont do the ordering.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 09:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 31
Default

ah, well i remember seeing some laptops with Core 2 Duos if i remember correctly...

but im not sure since i wasnt paying attention to them, can anyone confirm anything? XD
aricav05 is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 09:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

core duo is a mobile processor code name:Yonah its a dual core processor but lacks some of the features found in the Core 2 duo. The core 2 duo mobile version is called Merom has bigger L2 cache full support for EM64T and faster clocks.

read here for all the info:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Core_duo
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 10:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 31
Default

ah i see, thanks a bunch.
aricav05 is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 12:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by baronvongogo
[B] The core 2 duo mobile version is called Merom has bigger L2 cache full support for EM64T and faster clocks.
Not all Core 2 duo in laptops have bigger L2 cache

Core 2 duo T5200, T5500 and T5600 have 2MB L2 cache which is the same as Core duo

Core 2 duo T7200, T7400 and T7600 have 4MB L2 cache.

Also, Core 2 duo doesn't have faster clocks. The clock speed in Core 2 duo ranges from 1.6GHz to 2.33GHz, the same thing for Core duo (except for "low voltage" or "ultra low voltage" versions)
maroon1 is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 12:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo
Default

Core 2 Duo usually have less power consumption that Core Duo.
__________________

bigstanklo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.