Copying DVDs? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2004, 11:31 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 261
Send a message via Yahoo to mre30
Default

You might be able to use lager disc but you might have to do a firmware upgrade
__________________

mre30 is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 11:44 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 46
Default

Dvd Decrypter and Clone DVD make a beautiful combo.

Clone DVD does a Hell of a job compressing the Image. I've made backups of 24 which consists of 4 45 minute episodes, and watched them projected on a large screen, with no real degredation of image/sound quality.

I've cloned dvds with compresson reaching into the low 50% and haven't noticed any degradation of quality.
__________________

MrBob is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 12:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 261
Send a message via Yahoo to mre30
Default

Clone dvd and anydvd works good to
mre30 is offline  
Old 09-26-2004, 04:05 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Xula
Awsome, thanks!

One more quick question...! My DVD+/-RW says it can do up to 4.7GB disks--does that mean there's no way it could support a larger size, or they just don't ensure it? (It was a "free after rebate" at Office Max--I can't complain too much!)

Thanks for all the info...that program DVD Shrink looks awsome, for being free and all (Downloading now.)

Also! On a related topic...is there any way to compress these images of DVDs? (As in, to simply store the 8GB image on the computer, but also reduce the size (WinRar/Zip or something?)...just curious as an alternative...! Thanks.
no, to use 8GB recordable double/ dual layer DVDs you need to use a double/ dual layer DVD burner.

if you compress the dvd files that cannot be read by a software DVD player on the computer. Also the time it takes to compress 8GB is crazy, it would take forever to compress and decompress everytime you wanted to watch it.

I myself use DVDshrink to put only the main movie on DVDs. I used to rip the entire movie to disk and watch them off the TV, I hate any kind of compression or quality loss. you could use Dr.Divx or Xvid encoder to compress them to 1GB per movie, but the quality sucks. I kept all the VOBs, BUPs, etc. After doing this for a while I figured it's a waste to play it off a hard disk, plus what if someone wants a copy of the movie ....err I mean borrow it?
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 05:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Sure am glad that I got DVD X Copy before it was outlawed.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 07:47 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by m3incorp
Sure am glad that I got DVD X Copy before it was outlawed.
What is that?


I've used DVD Shrink now...doing the "quality" checks where it goes over the compressed data three times takes approximently 6hrs/per 8GB DVD, and then another .5hr for burning it. Looks great on the TV (well, as good as the original), so I can't complain...! I keep thinking to myself though, I should just get the image on the harddrive (of the original 8GB)...would be so much faster, and orignal quality, but then again, I'd have to buy more drives, as 8GB/time would fill it up quite fast! :P

Thanks for all the info!
Vormund is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 02:57 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

DVD X copy was licensed by 321 studios and it worked OK but was outlawed when they lost in court. This caused 321 studios to shut down. I used it for a short while but DVD shrink is more powerful in the re-authoring and it is free. Maybe that is why they haven't taken it down YET....
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 01:00 AM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

If it is a classic I use ifoedit (free) to split it to 2 disc

85% of movies I use dvd shrink (7 gig and under)

7-9 gigs movies I use Instant copy 7 as it give the best video quality of all of the shrinking programs. however, it take a long time compare to the others (1-6 hours)

But I use to burn dvds 3-4 years ago when Burners cost $700.00
and converting a dvd 9 to a dvd 5 took 24 hrs to do. these programs had little or no loss in quality as they shrunk it on a frame by frame basis
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 04:32 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

I have a 46' HDTV at home and I compared the quality of the image from the original with the copied version of my movies and never saw the difference even at 16 X Zoom. I like DVDSHRINK because it allows me to remove unwanted parts such as languages, extras, menus etc... This reauthoring really helps lowering the compression factors in movies. In the (few) cases where I want to keep the extras, I'll burn them on another DVD and make the movie into a 2 disks set.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 09:02 AM   #20 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Copying DVDs?

Quote:
Originally posted by Xula
I wasn't quite sure where to put this, as it could be multiple things (software, hardware etc!) But was curious if someone could tell me...

I recently purchased a DVD+/-RW, and some DVD-R's with 4.7 GB capacity. I tried copying a DVD and the image of it was about 8 GB, are there different sizes? (This was a single-sided DVD...). And also, what software do you reccommend? Currently I use Nero 6.

Thanks
Software that I have been using to back up my dvds has been DVD Shrink with DVD Region Free running in the background.
DVD Shrink is Freeware. DVD Region Free is not. However you have DVD Decriptor that can will take it's place.

Personally i have not noticed lose on quality on my home entertainment set up. But then again, I don't have a HDTV.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.