Cooling using oil - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2005, 02:07 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 518
Send a message via AIM to Joeisalsocool
Default

I would suggest using anti freeze instead of any oil.
first, it isn't conductive, second, it moves easier, third, dissapates heat easier.
You could use a radiator from a watercooling set up. would seem a little more practical to me.
Besides, it would be green instead of brown. You could put a UV light in the tank, and you would have one hell of a glowing box!
__________________

__________________
Joeisalsocool is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 02:38 PM   #22 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Antifreeze might not be conductive, but when it is channeled through the computer it starts to pick up sediment and things. Little flakes of metal here, some dirt there, eventually making it conductive. Same thing goes with distilled water, which is why you cant have a computer floating in a vat of it.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 02:53 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 849
Send a message via Yahoo to ZeroX
Default

that is just sweet
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=62\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/take.gif\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=0&amp;t=181\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Thunderbird!\" title=\"Get Thunderbird!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/thunderbird/thunderbird_small.png\"/></a>
<a href=\"http://my.opera.com/USERNAME/affiliate/\" title=\"Download Opera\" ><img src=\"http://promote.opera.com/small/opera88x31.png\" width=\"88\" height=\"31\" alt=\"Download Opera\" /></a>
ZeroX is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 02:57 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to MrBebop26 Send a message via Yahoo to MrBebop26
Default

Water conducts heat better then oil, oil resists more heat. Hentz why they use water and anti-freeze instead of oil. Its a cool looking idea though, oil! I would have never thought.

-Ryan
MrBebop26 is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 02:59 PM   #25 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Maybe milk would work as well.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 03:09 PM   #26 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

What about Ale? Not beer, beer is gross warm. But when you need to switch the coolant, you could drink the nice warm ale and then refill it while your nice and wasted!
Him is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 03:41 PM   #27 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Cooking oil resists heat, but motor oil absorbs it.

Either way, why care if it's conductive or not? The whole system's enclosed away from any circuits, so why worry about it? They actually have liquid-metal cooling units.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 03:42 PM   #28 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

What do you mean the whole system is enclosed away from any circuits? The mobo ispretty much just one big circuit.

Do you think you could link a liquid metal cooling unit? I would like to see one of those.
Him is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 03:57 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 233
Default

peanut oil would probably work also.
__________________
My rig (getting old):

Rosewill black case with 400W PSU (420W Thermaltake on the way)
MSI Nforce4-ultra Neo4 platnium
evga Nvidia 6600gt pci-e
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ winchester
Corsair ValueSelect 1 GB (2x512) RAM
Western Digital 80 GB SATA HDD (200 GB IDE coming soon)
AOpen combo drive
17\" LCD LG Monitor
Cheap Keys, Dell Mouse, no speakers

Gig \'em and God bless
tigerfootball05 is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 04:02 PM   #30 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Peanut Oil and Vegetable Oil are pretty much one in the same. Just made with different things.
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.