Converting simple SATA to RAID - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2009, 03:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Leatherhead, UK
Posts: 2
Default Converting simple SATA to RAID

I have a HP Proliant ML115 G5 with two SATA drives installed as C: (400Gb) and D: (500Gb) with no RAID.

I want to make the server a bit more resiliant, and consequently would like to convert it to use Raid 1. My plan was to buy two more drives; each identical to one of the the current drives, and install them so that I end up with

C: 2 x 400Gb in RAID 1 = 400Gb
D: 2 x 500Gb in RAID 1 = 500Gb

Ideally, I would like to do this without all the hassle of a complete OS reinstall, so would someone know if there is a way of converting the existing setup to RAID??

E.g. If I configure RAID, add the drives on the correct SATA connectors, and then power up, will the RAID just detect the new drive and rebuild it from the existing drive?

Or is it (as I suspect) a bit more compicated than that??
__________________

icargill is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 03:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: Converting simple SATA to RAID

typically you will want a hardware raid solution. this would require that you purchase a raid controller card.

buy card and hdds

install card

attach hdds


the tricky part is going to be getting the card to recognize which hard drive to boot from. you should be able to create a mirror onto the existing drive, but i think this is dependant on how the controller card functions.


you want a card like this
Newegg.com - SYBA SD-SATA-4P PCI SATA Controller Card - Controllers / RAID Cards



edit: you might wanna check to see if a raid controller already exists since its a proliant server
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 01:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Leatherhead, UK
Posts: 2
Default Re: Converting simple SATA to RAID

Quote:
Originally Posted by office politics View Post
typically you will want a hardware raid solution. this would require that you purchase a raid controller card.

edit: you might wanna check to see if a raid controller already exists since its a proliant server
Actually, I should have said in my original post... It has on-board RAID, so I just need to turn it on. I was really enquiring about how to proceed once I did that.
icargill is offline  
Old 02-09-2009, 07:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Converting simple SATA to RAID

I don't mean to sound like a smart *** here, but read the manual that came with the computer.
Reason being is that one mistake on setting up a RAID and you could find yourself loosing your data. And you think that I am joking.... think again. I am not. BEEN THERE. DONE THAT. NOT NICE PLACE TO BE.

Normally you will need to hit the delete key on boot up and turn it on under the BIOS. You need to turn it on there.

The after you reboot, watch the prompts as it will ask you to go into the RAID utility. Normally this is Ctrl S. From there onward, can create your RAID. Again I will remind you to read the manual. Reason being is that one mistake on setting up a RAID and you could find yourself loosing your data. And you think that I am joking.... think again. I am not. BEEN THERE. DONE THAT. NOT NICE PLACE TO BE.

Quote:
Originally Posted by office politics View Post
edit: you might wanna check to see if a raid controller already exists since its a proliant server
Out of the box, Proliant Servers normally will allow you to do RAID 0,1,10 with out any additional parts. RAID 5,6 on the other hand might require some extra hardware.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mind Boggling Raid Problems DesoShade Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2008 08:43 PM
IDE RAID and SATA RAID togather abadjay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-02-2007 02:37 PM
Pre-RAID Guide veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-20-2007 11:26 PM
SATA Raid and PATA QuaziBee New Systems | Building and Buying 1 06-11-2007 08:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.