Converting a Joyport Steering Wheel to USB? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2006, 06:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default Converting a Joyport Steering Wheel to USB?

Ok i have this old logitech joystick from way back when that uses a joyport and doesnt fit any of my new computers. I was wondering if I can cut the joy coupler off and convert it to a usb coupler. Anybody have an knowledge of this? I cant spend any money till after summer (stupid parents) or else I would buy one.
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 06:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

serial to USB adapter.

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...c.asp?CatId=77

Game port to USB adapter

http://www.usbgear.com/computer_cabl...atid=626%2C106
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 07:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan
Default

The joyport is actually an Apple invention, and is normally used for MIDI.....upper end sound cards still carry them....like sound blasters.....
shdwsclan is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 09:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Like I said I cant spend any real money on a new racing wheel, buy a adapter or a new sound card. So is there anyway I could modify it to work?
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 09:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

no, because its very old technology. The only way would be to buy an adapter, or find a used PCI adapter for your PC to support it.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 10:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

I have so many of those but my dad *****ed about not putting it in because it could kill it. What would be the difference in an old sounblaster vs my onboard ac97 realtek?
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 10:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

What offboard soundcard is equvialent to the onboard ac97 by realtek?
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 10:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

sound cards dont really matter, whether they are from 1996 or from 2006....they provide sound, while older ones may not have "bass boost"...

An older sound card will work fine, just put it in another PCI slot, most PC's have 2 stock.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 11:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

So i really wont notice a sound difference? really! Well I will take your word for it and try this tomorrow night. THANK YOU!!!!
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 11:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Video cards are different, but sound cards are virtually identical.

I guess you are using a 2-piece speakers system with subwoofer? Any sound card will work with that setup, even an old one.

Out of curiousity, why go through all this trouble to use an old joystick? why not keyboard?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.