Conroe Discussion - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2006, 07:29 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

And anyone seen their commercial?

It went something like this...

"They were in a pc, but now they are in a mac, they are set free"
__________________

__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 08:09 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cappy
Conroe performance follow up
call me an AMD fanboy, but I'm still not convinced.
they addressed one issue.
there's still the issue of the drivers Intel designed which were also installed on the AMD system, and the fact that they aren't using an RD580 chip

and there's also the fact that a 6800 GT and FX-57 apparently gets higher frames
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 08:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

There are a lot of things wrong with those articles, I'll post them later when I have time. Though some parts seem to be accurate.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 08:55 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

I agree , my final take will be when its out and tested by people like us .
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 12:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Rahul Sood on Intel's benchie comparisons

Interesting blog entry. Dude really looked into this, and his findings show that Intel fixed the thing... even if they didn't realize it.

http://voodoopc.blogspot.com/2006/03...e-machine.html

Quote:
The long and the short of it is Intel has crafted an excellent marketing strategy to show off their baby in its first trimester. They are trying to win the hearts and minds of enthusiasts half a year before they have anything to show us. They created these platforms in house, and we can only hope they unknowingly crutched the AMD system by using a chipset and motherboard - with an outdated bios - that no enthusiast supports.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 12:38 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

facinating... Puts things in a little clearer perspective. I mean, I'm not claiming conroe will suck, but this shows that the playing field wasn't level.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 03:51 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default Glad, But Mad?

It's terrific to see that Intel's Conroe is going to cost probably half as much as the FX-62, and yet deal out somewhere around 30-40% more in performance. That's basically a 100% more efficient CPU. I was actually planning on buying a Socket T motherboard with a Cedar Mill 3.0ghz for now with a 945 chipset.

But it seems that Conroe won't be able to use any old chipsets, you need to buy a new motherboard of the chipset 965 (or any other new generation chipsets Intel will release later this year). This is terribly aggravating and annoying, and now it seems that I might just go AMD. One of the main reasons I wanted to go Intel was because I didn't want to wait until June to buy a comp setup, I could use my Cedar Mill for now, and upgrade to a Conroe later. But since AMD's Socket AM2 will cause the same "problems", of needing to buy a new motherboard and CPU, and AMD is releasing AM2 before Conroe and 965, I might as well go AMD. Intel wanted to steal some gamers away from AMD by releasing such an awesome CPU for such a cheap price, but then they killed off the dream by doing this!

Is anyone else glad, but mad about this ordeal?
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 03:53 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

Intel arnt always what they seem.
Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 03:58 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

What is so amazing? Look how long its taken for intel to actually get in head of old AMD tech.

You should compare this to the AMD K8L not the K8. (maybe up to 2x the speed of the current AMD cpus for clock speed).
turtile is offline  
Old 03-09-2006, 04:01 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cappy
I agree , my final take will be when its out and tested by people like us .
somehow i think conroe is off to a prescott-ish start with public reaction, although thats just my personal speculation.

why would intel use an r480 rig? r580 offers tighter mem timings, better o/c options, and more than likely better efficiency.

after anandtech released its revised versions of its screwy benchmarks, im with you cappy, wait for conroe/am2 to come out and then we shall see for certain.
__________________

Panther is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.