connecting a hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2005, 07:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 251
Question connecting a hard drive

I currently have 1 40gb hd and 1 80gb hd conneted to my cpu, i want to connect my 40gb ps2 hd to my cpu is this possible and if so can someone tell me how to install it.thanks
__________________

socom2playa is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 07:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

You don't connect HD's to the CPU. You connect em via an IDE cable that then goes to the motherboard.

PS2 as in playstation 2? Does it even have the same connectors as a normal HD, because the only system I know of having a regular PC HD is Xbox in which it requires a little effort to make it compatible in your computer.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 12:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Those PS2 HD's use a different interface than the IDE connection. Maybe you can find an adapter if they make one.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.