Connecting the CD-RW drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2005, 11:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Unhappy Connecting the CD-RW drive

Hello! I am new to this Forum! I've recentely bought a CD-RW drive and found my self having trouble to connect it to the CPU. The 2 problemas that I found are:

1. There isn't the cable to connect it to the mpotherborad. The one that there is is already being used bu the CD-ROM Drive.

2. The is a small cacle connector that came with the CD-RW Drive and I don't have any clu where to plug it.

Please, help me!!!

Thank youu!!!

http://www.traffichungry.com/redirec...errer=caramelo
__________________

febonti1 is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 11:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You should have 3 connectors on the IDE cable, One goes into the mobo the other is for your 2 cd drives. You should be able to hook them right up unless its proprietary....
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 12:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I assume that small cable (as I can't see it in front of me) is to connect digital sound to the motherboard, you can leave it out (there is probally a 3.5mm jack on the drive)

You have to use a IDE cable to connect it to the motherboard. The IDE cable can connect 2 drives up (including harddrives) You may need to get another one (ask for it/get it from where you bought your cd drive from.)

The motherboard should have 2 slots for a IDE cable, the other one next to it.

If all else fails, than take the old cd-rom out and put the rw in.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 12:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to GRINGOSTARR
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
You should have 3 connectors on the IDE cable, One goes into the mobo the other is for your 2 cd drives. You should be able to hook them right up unless its proprietary....
propritary IDE? never heard of it.

anyways, make sure that you have a open slot on the IDE cable. the small plug is for digitial audio, which isnt needed anymore since all the digitial data can now travel through a 80 pin ide cable.
GRINGOSTARR is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 01:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
propritary IDE?
Im pretty sure he's talking about the IDE cables that only have 2 connectors (one for mobo and one for the drive).
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 02:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to GRINGOSTARR
Default

that makes more sense
__________________
My Baby :)


<u>Cooler Master Centrion 5 Case w/ Master Power 520w Smart PSU
AMD AthlonXP 2200+ w/ Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu All Copper Silent CPU Fan.
AOpen AK77-600N w/ VIA KT600 Chipset
1GB of Micron PC2700 DDR Ram Performance Cooled by Thermaltake
ATI Radeon 9800XT (256MB DDR) Overclocked to 438 MHz w/ Thermaltake Heatsink and Fan
40 GB western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Maxtor DiamondMax Hard Drive (7200RPM)
I/O-Magic Internal Dual Layer DVD+RW/+R (16X)
FMI 10/100/1000 NIC (Realtek 8169 Chipset)
Logitech MX518
fUncPad
Saitek Backlit PC Gamer\'s Keyboard
Pics of my rig are <a href=\"http://energizer2.com/pix/06132005\">Here</a>
GRINGOSTARR is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 03:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Wink

Thats what I was talking about. I see a lot of Dells like that. I didnt know what kind of system he had so thats why I said that.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 05:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Smile

Hello, I would like to thank everybody for your help.... sorry didn't answer the posts before...

Thanks a lot!!!!!!!



Fernanda

http://www.traffichungry.com/redirec...errer=caramelo
febonti1 is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 12:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
Question

Heeeeeeelllp!!!

Since I've tried to configure (to connect) the CD-RW not only it doesn't work but my cd-room stoped working as well and my monitor goes blank when I switch the system on.

It also makes a strange noise.

Then I switch off the system and disconnect ONLY the IDE cable that connects the cdroom and the cdrw to the secondary ide... living the power connector on... on both drives...

The cdrw is in master and the cdroom is in slave mode...

I have been trying for days to fix the problem but since haven't got no experience or knowledge about I am completed left without a clear solution...

Pleaseee heeelpppp!!!

http://www.traffichungry.com/redirec...errer=caramelo
febonti1 is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 01:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to GRINGOSTARR
Default

sounds like some jumpers are bad.
check the jumpers...

also, check some bios settings such as the enabling of the ide channel. maybe it somehow got disabled.

last resort, replace the IDE cable.

just throwing out some ideas.
__________________

__________________
My Baby :)


<u>Cooler Master Centrion 5 Case w/ Master Power 520w Smart PSU
AMD AthlonXP 2200+ w/ Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu All Copper Silent CPU Fan.
AOpen AK77-600N w/ VIA KT600 Chipset
1GB of Micron PC2700 DDR Ram Performance Cooled by Thermaltake
ATI Radeon 9800XT (256MB DDR) Overclocked to 438 MHz w/ Thermaltake Heatsink and Fan
40 GB western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive (5400RPM)
80 GB Maxtor DiamondMax Hard Drive (7200RPM)
I/O-Magic Internal Dual Layer DVD+RW/+R (16X)
FMI 10/100/1000 NIC (Realtek 8169 Chipset)
Logitech MX518
fUncPad
Saitek Backlit PC Gamer\'s Keyboard
Pics of my rig are <a href=\"http://energizer2.com/pix/06132005\">Here</a>
GRINGOSTARR is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.