Connecting Cables - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2008, 09:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20
Default Connecting Cables

Hey i need help i have a Xion Solaris case and i am trying to connect it to an EP45-DS3R and we connect them and it won't turn on maybe its the way we plugged them in. PLEASE HELP!!!
__________________

Dalarom1701 is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 09:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Connecting Cables

Did you plug the front panel headers in the right away? Match up what the pins from the case have (should say) to what the F_PANEL headers on the motherboard say. Note: There should be a little arrow pointing down for the positive (+) side of the wire, on the connectors for the case. Make sure you don't have anything backwards.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 12-05-2008, 10:01 PM   #3 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Connecting Cables

Ensure you have the correct power cables connected and they are firmly in place as well.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 10:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: Connecting Cables

Yea we did that, the power switch was in the right place. And we knew the motherboard has power because we would connect the power led and the light comes on. So we don't know whats going on.
Dalarom1701 is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 10:32 PM   #5 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Connecting Cables

You connected the 4 or 8 pin CPU power as well? The motherboard will light up even if you don't connect that. If you have then it's a dead motherboard or PSU and needs to be replaced.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 10:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: Connecting Cables

ok. Well the motherboard is new. i just bought it and the power supply is new. I was shipped in today. There is nothing that would work or do i really need to replace it...?
Dalarom1701 is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 10:48 PM   #7 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Connecting Cables

Only thing you can do is either use a different motherboard or PSU and test each of your new parts to see which of the two is dead.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 10:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: Connecting Cables

well i just tried something. I pulled out the 24 pin connector and the 12V and the led isn't coming on. So doesn't that mean that there isn't a problem with the power or the motherboard?
Dalarom1701 is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 10:55 PM   #9 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Connecting Cables

The PSU can power the motherboard when off but it could still be bad. Do any fans spin at all when trying to power on?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 11:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: Connecting Cables

nope like nothing happens. no fans or anything. idk if it's the power switch that is connected wrong, or like the motherboard is after all dead.
__________________

Dalarom1701 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting Pc To Tv With S-Video iamloco724 Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 07-26-2008 09:40 PM
internet not connecting ryan7777 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 07-14-2008 02:42 PM
Question about hooking up my cables from PSU? desktop System Upgrades 1 02-05-2008 04:47 PM
Sony DVD burner/Seagate HDD.... doesn't have cables OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 6 07-15-2007 04:53 PM
Guild Wars Connecting stays at 0% since going wireless Timekeeper01 PC Gaming 0 07-09-2007 12:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.