connecting 2 HD's and 2 burners question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2004, 10:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default connecting 2 HD's and 2 burners question

I use to have the 2 burners on one IDE and the 2 HD on it's own IDE. set as master/slave. the burners are conflicting now cus of this (master/slave) so I am switching both to master and split them up onto 2 different IDE's.

few questions:

ALL cd burners AND HD's should be set to master?

Does it matter what order the devices is in in the IDE chain when you connect, should it go HD first (coming from the MB) and then the burner?

The HD with the OS, does it matter which IDE channel it's on? Primary?
__________________

tephlon is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 10:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

-No, there should be 1 master and 1 slave on each cable.

-It doesn not matter in wich order, unless when you are using "cable select" the drive wich you want to boot from has to be on the second connector

-no, it does not matter.

I suggest this setup to prevent problems:

Primary IDE: 1 master HD with OS on second connector (from MB)
1 slave HD on first connector

Secondary IDE: 1 cd-rom as master on last connector and 1 cd-rom as slave on first connector

Please post your system specs
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 10:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor


I suggest this setup to prevent problems:

Primary IDE: 1 master HD with OS on second connector (from MB)
1 slave HD on first connector

Secondary IDE: 1 cd-rom as master on last connector and 1 cd-rom as slave on first connector

Please post your system specs
Specs:
p3 800mhz, 394 sdram
Xp Pro

I had my setup done the way you had there. The thing is that the cd drives are DVD combo drives (one is a DVD burner). The DVD burner won't burn DVD's anymore so I called tech support (Lg) and the final conclusion was to set the burner as a Master on a different IDE than the other DVD combo drive.

Thanks for the help.
tephlon is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 10:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

you can also put 1 master HD and 1 slave cd-rom device on each cable.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 12:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Default

oh crap.

won't detect any of my devices. I have BIOS set to auto, cables/power fit in snuggly (lights blink on the cd drives), jumpers set proper (one master and slave per IDE).... anything else I'm missing?

ps: I tried reverting back to my old setup (IDE connection and jumper settings) and it won't detect anything there either

be back later...
tephlon is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 12:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

It should work fine that way. Check your cables and swap the device on the last connectors with the ones on the first connectors.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.