Confused about processors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2006, 12:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Unhappy Confused about processors

Hi. I think i have an intel pentium 4 (which blows) but in system information, under processor it says - x86 family 15 model 1 stepping 2 Genuineintel - i have no idea what this means..... and i wanted to get a better processor and i was wondering whats the besty one money can buy. but specifically i was looking at the AMD Athlon 64 X2 and the Intel Core 2 Extreme. any help would be EXTREMELY APRECCIATED. thanks in advance
__________________

Xx Synyster xX is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 12:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

AMD all the way...
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 03:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

its a pentium 4, download CPUID if you want to know exect info. personally i like intel, some amd's are nice too. but i think the intel core 2 duo extreme is untouchable if you have the cash, wish i did lol, go with that chip.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 08:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

ok then ill probly get the intel cuz thats what i was leaning towards but now wont i have to get a new mother board and ****??? ill give a list of my exact specs and stuff and someone tell me if ill need to replace any of it to be compatable with this fricken CPU......

Mother Board - ASUS P4C800-E
Chip Set - Intel i875PE
CPU - Intel Pentium 4
Video Card - NVIDIA GeForce Ultra 6800
Hardrive - 160 GB
Operating System - Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 1

I hope someone can help me
Xx Synyster xX is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 08:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

- You will need a new motherboard for sure
- You can look around for a motherboard that uses the same memory and video card you have to you wont have to buy those new
- Hard drive is fine/OS is fine.
- You power supply should be fine if it works for that set up
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 10:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

wait what about a new video card? didnt understand what you wrote
Xx Synyster xX is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 10:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

ok so im thinking about getting an Asus P5W DH 975X Mother Board and stickin wit my video card if possible. also i wanted to know how big the difference between the performanceo f the core 2 duo and the core 2 extreme was because i know the price ranges are completely diff but sometimes big companys charge like 12312243 dollars more for like a tiny upgrade so i was just wonderin thanks
Xx Synyster xX is offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 08:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

i agree with CrazeD, "AMD all the way" i don't like intel anymore for gaming anyway, and for saying this i'm probably gonna get hammered about CONROE, but you want my personal opinion?


**** CONROE!!!

Intel is only good for the internet anyway, the last one i had couldn't run CS:S worth crap (a P4 3GHz), only intel (newer) i will take is if it is free
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 09:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

ya im wit u too, AMD ALL THE WAY!!! bout to get the new am2 also.haha
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-04-2006, 09:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 306
Default

Quote:
Operating System - Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack
I know this is unrelated but service pack 2 is free to download and it makes xp more secure
__________________

__________________







Office 2007 for Sale
StylinGolfShoes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.