Confused about GPUs and how they screw in - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2011, 04:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Default Re: Confused about GPUs and how they screw in

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
http://www.maximumpc.com/files/u5767...70_iso_med.jpg

those two notches where the bracket makes a 90 degree corner, you screw down into the case slots. Those 2 holes on the bracket that you have highlighted aren't for anything.

you can see what i mean if that doesn't really make much sense

http://pc.mmgn.com/lib/Images/contents/P3070046.JPG

the screw is just supposed to hold down the card, not fasten it in.
Er okay wait just to clarify, look at the very top metal bracket part of the card ( on left side of the card ) you see how theres 1 squarish hole in the center and 2 semi open holes at the very edge. You are saying to slip screws into these 2? So far I've been slipping a zip tie into the center squarish hole and tying them tightly around the case bracket holes to hold it down.
__________________

VampD is offline  
Old 03-29-2011, 04:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: Confused about GPUs and how they screw in

Can we have a picture of what you are doing exactly? In your computer?
__________________

__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline  
Old 03-29-2011, 05:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Confused about GPUs and how they screw in

put the card in the slot.

line up 2 holes on the bracket and 2 holes in the case where there are slots that the connectors go through.

screw into whatever is there. it should look like the second one when all is said and done. there's no need for a zip tie.

the middle hole is if your case is 'tool-less' meaning there are plastic brackets than come down and sandwich the card in. Since your case isn't then you have to use screws.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All my gpus are EUE'd patonb Folding @ Home 12 01-04-2009 11:30 AM
Running 2 different GPUs phantomdentist New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-17-2007 03:29 PM
Comparing GPUs agentdax5 Overclocking and Modding 5 05-25-2007 11:26 AM
Two GPUs J0E New Systems | Building and Buying 7 01-09-2006 05:14 PM
Mobile GPUs gaara Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 06-01-2005 11:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.