Confused about bus settings - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2005, 05:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 139
Default Confused about bus settings

Got my new build (my first) up and running. The Athlon XP 2800+ is only running at 1.250ghz. I know I need to change a bus setting but the manual and some other places I've read speak of system bus and front side bus? I don't know if they are talking about the same thing or two different things? The mobo manual says, using a jumper on the board, I can choose 100, 133, or 166mhz. I don't know which one of these a 333mhz frontside bus processor is supposed to be set at?
__________________

gospel is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 05:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

For the XP 2800+, you should choose 166 MHz. For the AMD Athlon XP line, you multiply the 166 MHz by 2, so 166 x 2 = 333 MHz.
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 08:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 139
Default

Well duh. I'll learn all this stuff one day. Thanks a lot!!
gospel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.