Confirmation re Harware Issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2006, 08:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 31
Default Confirmation re Harware Issue

Hi People,

I need confirmation on an issue regarding hardware. I'm currently living in Japan and intend to return to Australia soon. I bought a desktop computer while here (built from component parts), and would like to bring it back with me to Australia. My intention is to "gut" the computer - keep the motherboard, hard disks, memory and other internals, plus the monitor, and throw or give away the computer case (which would be too bulky to bring back with me). When I return to Australia I will buy a new case.

Regarding the internal components, will there be any voltage issues etc. when connecting up to the power supply of my new case? I don't see why there would be, as the internal voltages have nothing to do with the source voltages...but I just want to check. Also, I'll need to buy a power socket adapter for my monitor. I don't see this as being an issue either, but thought I'd better ask. Can anyone help?

Cheers,

Kyoto
__________________

Kyoto512 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 12:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

you might need a power adapter to switch the end of the plug to fit into the wall outlet, but the PC should work fine. I would not keep the monitor, it weighs 60 LBS, i would sell it in Japan, and buy one in Australia.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 01:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

as long as Japan is 240v you should be fine. even if its not the psu should have a switch on it between 110v and 230v/240v/250v (depends on power supply but its all good). just get a new power cable for the pc rather than buy an adapter.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 04:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 31
Default

Thanks for your help, guys.

Actually, my intention was to buy a new computer case and power supply. This way I would have a 240 V PSU. I'm just wondering if I use the new power supply, will it have any adverse effect on my motherboard et. al. Surely the internal voltages (5/12?) are the same, regardless of the PSU.

To talldude123: My computer monitor is really light. I think I can fit it in my suitcase, and I don't think it'll cause me problems in terms of weight. Anyway, I'll see.

Cheers,

Kyoto
Kyoto512 is offline  
Old 02-18-2006, 12:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

oh i see, it was probably an LCD monitor...i was thinking it was CRT
talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.