Computer wont turn on after being assembled - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2004, 12:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 48
Default Computer wont turn on after being assembled

recently i decided to build a 3rd computer, well i got all the parts, hooked it up and everything - and it never turns on. nothing happens

ive tried everything i could think of, from jumping the switch right on the motherboard, to swapping out power supplies and i have no idea what is wrong.

i think it may be the motherboard, but i dont want to have to buy a new one, so can you list some suggestions as to what i should do?

KingBobCat is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 01:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 48

its an athlon, and i double checked all hookups and cross-referenced them with the manual

KingBobCat is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 02:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 185

When you say nothing happens, does that mean nothing in the computer works when you power on? Did you check your wall socket? Get a voltmeter and check if the psu works, then the mobo. Did you use ESD protection when putting it together?
\"The surest way to corrupt a youth is to instruct him to hold in higher esteem those who think alike than those who think differently.\" Friedrich Nietzsche
cajun33 is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 05:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

sounds like your front panel conections to the mobo are not correct. remove all the plugs and try getting only your power switch working 1st.Some manuals can be deceiving as to how your conections are made. Of course make sure if your PS has a switch on the back that its on .
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 08:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27

there may be two connections coming from the power supply...

my Gigabyte mobo has the main "Wide" power cable and a little 4 pin connecter...

I didnt have the 4 pin connected and went crazy for about an hour
odessabo is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 09:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 48

i checked and the power supply is in working order, it has electricity coming into it - when i press the power button, absolutely nothing happens. it's like trying to turn on an unplugged computer and i used ESD protection when putting it together. i checked for an additional power supply connection, i couldn't find it, and im about to head off to school so i will try switching around the hookups, but as i said before - even trying to jump the computer on using a piece of wire to connect the two prongs that receive the power cable. i'll try to use the other prongs as well. thanks for your advice
KingBobCat is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 10:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 424
Send a message via AIM to Erik Send a message via Yahoo to Erik

You know what I would check? Did you use the risers that came with the case when you attached the motherboard? There should have been some gold screws that came with your case that you screw into the back panel of your case for mounting your motherboard, you set your motherboard on those and then you screw it on. Many many many people have made this mistake. I would check and make sure you did this. If you didn't, take it apart and start over again. By the way, I did the same thing my first build.
Erik is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 12:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
kboy's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041

I did this once
Of course make sure if your PS has a switch on the back that its on .
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX

1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 12:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad

Sounds like a case of the mobo blues. SING IT BOYS!
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor

Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 05:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 48

yes bandage boy the standoffs were installed, and installed in the proper place, and i double checked the switch on the power supply, and all other connections. so you all think it's the mobo?

KingBobCat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.