computer wont turn on - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2005, 04:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

yup take it out, set the jumper to slave and plug it into the other machine.
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 05:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

What about your monitor? Is it dead? A while ago i booted my computer and nothing would come up on the monitor. Turned out the cable connecting into my monitor had basically fallen out. DOH!
__________________

__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 01:14 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Default

i tried a new video card and same thing happened. i also used a different monitor that i know works and same think. the monitor stays black and nothing shows up.
thisisme is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 02:34 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

cause its a dell, it should have lights either on the front or the back labelled a,b,c,d. when there is a hardware problem, these lights light up in a certain pattern. look this pattern up in your dell manual to find your problem.
joshd is offline  
Old 07-01-2005, 04:32 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to ghensenyuy
Default

better get a new PC. Or the motherboard. Try to swap with a similar pc with the same hardware platform
__________________

ghensenyuy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.