computer wont turn on - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2005, 04:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Default computer wont turn on

hey i have a dell 1400 and when i turn it on all i here is a beeping noise coming from the middle of the mother board. the fan doesn turn or anything this is all get. please help me thanks
__________________

thisisme is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 04:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Default

ok now the fan where the power supply is at turns on and it doesnt beep anymore but all i get is a black screen. doesnt load anythign up.
__________________

thisisme is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 04:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424
Default

How many beeps? Anyways that's a hardware issue. You say nothing turns on except the powersupplys fan. Make sure the cables are connected properly, you might have a dead psu. And how long have you had the computer?
raiden_nrl is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 03:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Default

its a really old computer. when i plug it in the fan turns and inside on the mother board a green light blinks. it doesnt start up or anything. and i cant restart it or turn it off i have to unplug it to do that.
thisisme is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 03:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Default

ok i just played around i found some wires that werent connnected. but now the screen wont turn on. when i turn on my computer i can hear everything load up but nothing goes to the screen.
thisisme is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 03:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 130
Default

hmmmm....ever thought of getting a new compu?
but re-check your wires, u might have mixed something up.
Shadow Geek is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 03:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Default

this is my new computer... wires look good but ill check again. thanks
thisisme is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 04:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Default

anyone know what the screen doesnt work?
thisisme is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 04:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

the video card is the most likely culprit. Try a different one.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 04:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Default

ok. i want to get some files off that computer. is it possible to put the hard drive from that computer onto the one im using now?
__________________

thisisme is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.