computer wont startup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2005, 10:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Question computer wont startup

Today when i went to turn on my computer it would not bootup. the fan on the power supply and the case fans are all spinning. so the power supply cant be bad (i also checked it with a power supply tester). i swapped out the ram and still the same problem. i checked the cp and it seems to be in working order. i reset the cmos. any other ideas how to fix the problem
__________________

benzimm86 is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 10:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9
Default

how far does it get booting up? Any 'bleeps'?
__________________

chooseagoodhost is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 10:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

it does not make any nose. the monitor also doenst turn on. I have one of those diagnostic pci cards (which has yet to solve a single problem). on the card the rst (reset) light stays on which should only flash. the manual says to make sure that the reset pin is plugged in properly which it is or to make sure the reset circuit is broken but i dont know what the reset circuit is.
__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 10:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Have you pressed the reset switch on your machine recently, if you have it could be a sticky reset switch (It's stuck in and not releasing).

Drworm2005.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 11:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

i have tried that i also unplugged the reset switch from the motherboard none of which seem to make a difference
__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 11:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

i also noticed that the hard drive light on the front of the computer stays light and the power light does not turn on at all. the cd rom does not have any power
__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 11:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

I have also had that problem while O/Cing, (HDD light always on and no power light) all i had to do was reset the CMOS, i know you have already done this but try it again and leave the jumper on for at least a minute also make sure you disconnect the power from the power supply.

Drworm2005.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 12:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

nope that doesnt do the trick either. more things that i have tried were only having the memory, processsor and power plugged in to make sure it was not some other device causing the problem. also pulled the motherboard out of the tower to make sure it was not being grounded by anything. i am not sure if i mentioned this before but but power button does not shut it off. the only way is to pull the plug in the back. as soon as you plug it back in the fans start spinning again. i also unplugged all the power button, reset button and led plugs and it still spins the fans when you plug it in
__________________

__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.