Computer won't startup? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2004, 04:53 PM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

make sure your bios is set to boot from cd. restart computer

it will say press any key to boot from cd, click a key

it will say something like inspecting system hardward config

then it will say press f6 to install raid driver at the bottom of the screen

then it will say press f2 for automatic system recovery. press f2

these messages go by quickly, so make sure you see it.
__________________

vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 06:59 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 131
Default

I never got a F2 option, flash etc.
I did see the F6 option

After it loaded a lot of setup devices from the cd, I tried to run windows and it actually stayed on the blue screen so I can type it out here for you.




A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer.

REGISTRY_ERROR

If this is the first time you have seen this stop error screen, restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow these steps:

Check to make sure anu new hardware or software is properly intalled. If this is a new installation, ask your hardware or software manufacturer for any windows updates you might need.

If problems continue, disable or remove any newly installed hardware or software. Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing. If you need to use safe mode to remove or disable components, restart your computer, press F8 to select Advanced Startup Options, and then select Safe Mode.

Technical information:
*** STOP: 0x00000051 (0x00000003, 0x00000003, 0x00000000, 0xE10FE000)





How do I do the bios thing?

Is there anyway I can get the computer to start in safe mode other than the way mentioned above b.c everytime I try it, it keeps flashing the blue screen and just keeps rebbooting itself.

And no I didn't install any new software or hardware prior to this happening. Just what I mentioned earlier with the spyware remover (but it was already installed).
__________________

JB Rekit is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 10:26 PM   #23 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

that wierd f2 should come just before or just after the raid option

the problem you are describing above, ususally refers to a hardware problem

it look like you are going to have to take that drive and put it on somebody else's computer and delete it or format it

then reinstall xp
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 10:43 PM   #24 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

if doing a recovery it SHOULD ask you for a repair. Just do it like a normal install, it will detect the o/s as being there already and ask if you'd like to repair it. You'll know if you chose the wrong thing if it asks what kind of partition to use. Just do it like you would normally set up and eventually it will ask you if you'd like to repair.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 09:24 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 131
Default

When I try the setup XP option (hoping to get to a repair option), it ends up frozen in the blue screen with the same message as above.

When hitting r for repair in the same menu, it asks "Which Windows installation would you like to log onto?"

It only give one space to type anything and i have tried every letter and numer on the keyboard and "1" is the only thing that will make it quit giving the same prompt and that takes you back to the frozen blue screen again.
JB Rekit is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 11:10 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

clear cmos i would zero down the HD and do a fresh install
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 08:52 AM   #27 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 62
Default

Hey Check If The mother board is working fine remove the memory modules and hear for any beeps from the Board And if u dont then your motherboard is gone for a toss if not then Remove all the external pheriperals from your system and also reseat the HDD Cable (IDE cable) And tell me ill give a few more steps.
__________________
Its Better To Be Pissed Off Than To Be Pissed On......
Kevz is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 09:09 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 131
Default

No beeps.

So that means it is the motherboard for sure?
JB Rekit is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 01:03 PM   #29 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 62
Default

Hey yes Im really Sorry thats Right No Beeps That means Your Mother Is Gone For a toss Im sure about this that your motherbard has a problem and i guess u HAVE to buy a new motherboard and I got experience coz when any customer in dell calls up and when the memory has been removed and there is no beeps that means motherboard is faulty
Well The beeps indicate that the memory is missing from your motherboard well if you remove the memory and u dont have beeps that means the motherboard is Damaged
Im sure Bout This my friend.
__________________

__________________
Its Better To Be Pissed Off Than To Be Pissed On......
Kevz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.