Computer won't startup? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2004, 04:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247

crack the case and remove all uneeded items. Basically, remove the CD drive (unplug, not literally remove), floppy disk and any other peripherials. Bare bones system. Now see if it will boot.

If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 08:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 131

1. It doesn't beep at all. I don't think it ever has though.
2. And as far as the blue screen goes, I went through it several times and I think I saw the word registry and maybe F8 somewhere on the page. It is only on for a split second, but I can tell the whole page is filled with writing.
3. I can't start windows to get to the control pannel.
4. I can't get into windows even in safe mode to try to do a restore. If there is another way to do it I don't know how.

I unplugged the CD drives and the floppy and it still did the same thing.

JB Rekit is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 11:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808

boot to your cd and do repair option. you have to tell to install first, then do the repair. you won't loose any files.
derrmc is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 07:07 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 32

Okay, JB. From what you tell me I'm initially thinking a RAM woe. Try moving your own RAM card over to the next slot. If that fails try a known good RAM card that will suit your system.

If you have no joy this is hopefully a power supply problem. Borrow a friends good power supply and see how that goes.

If that fails. You might want to swear a whole lot 'cause we may be looking at your motherboard, but we will try other stuff first.

Are you familiar with your BIOs? If so you may need to enable your boot virus alarm just in case. I doubt it though.

Check your processor fan. It should be spinning without fluctuation (it does during boot up/wait till the machine is booted fully). It should be spinning like a mini jet engine then. If not, turn the machine off, unplug, unscrew the fan and clean it with the trusty little paint brush. Also clean the heat sink with one of those cool little mini air compressors. Please do not remove the heat sink unless you have to. You can blast it with the air compressor and vacuum up the fine dust with a normal vacuum cleaner... carefully.

Off topic but slightly relevent... If your processor is getting hot you will initially get "explorer is causing invalid page errors/faults in... ***.dll. The first will be kernel32.dll. The rest will be random .dll files. First, clean your heatsink!!! Your processor is overheating.

I get sidetracked so easily.

Get back to me if any of those don't work, JB.

kiri is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 08:05 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 131

Sorry for taking so long to get back to you guys. I had to go to New York friday morning and just got back last night.

I stuck the ram card in the other slot and it is sill doing the exact same thing. I also inspected the fan and the heat sink and both were suprisingly clean (Haven't used the computer all that much though) and the fan was working properly as well.

If it is the motherboard, and this computer is close to 2 years old, what would I be looking at to replace it and would it even be worth it?

JB Rekit is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 12:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

What OS are you using ? You gave no info on your system !!
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 01:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 131


Windows XP Home

AMD Athlon XP Processor Model 2000 (1.67GHz)
256MB RC2100 DDR Total System Memory
40GB Hard Drive

If there is anything else you need, let me know. I'm still learing the lay of the land on this forum.
JB Rekit is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 11:13 PM   #18 (permalink)
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422

it sound like maybe some of your files are missing, maybe from spybot, maybe for something else.

put your xp cd in, boot from it, press the f2 button for automatic system recovery (it says something like that) type a few letters (any letters will do) then the cd will give you options on what commands to type

pick the option that will restore your missing files. I forget what it is called. it has been awhile since i used the feature. I once was manually installing bootscreens and I mess up (I installid one that wouldn't work with sp1) and the computer wouldn't boot. there are a lot of options to fix XP from that automatic system recovery
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 05:15 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

some files and/or registry settings have been removed by your spyware removal program, if you have not yet tried to repair your installation try it now
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 03:33 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 131

Wow, this is so frustrating

I tried putting in the windows cd and it would never give me the options to try and recover
It went to a dos prompt asking me to type a installation code, but everytime I typed something and hit enter, it would just keep asking the same question w/o giving me any options.

Not being a computer genius or anything I am almost to the point where I am willing to reformat it just so I can hopefully get this behind me.

If there is anything else I need to do as far as diagnostics go, you will probably need to spell it out for me b.c everything I am doing now is on unchartered waters for me.

I do appreciate your help

JB Rekit is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.