Computer won't startup? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2004, 08:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 131
Default Computer won't startup?

Every time I turn it on it asks

Safe Mode
Safe Mode with Networking
Safe Mode with command prompt
Last known good configuration
Start windows normally

The last time I turned it off, I used the spybot search and destroy and it must have erased something important, but how do I get it back on?

I have tried all of the above options and it keeps cycling back to the same 5 options.

Any ideas are appreaciated

John
__________________

JB Rekit is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 08:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Is there not an option that says "Boot normally" ?

EDIT: OK, I hadn't seen Boot normally on your list but now I see it, make sure (for whatever reason) that the F8 key is not jammed or anything (just a suggestion).

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 10:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 131
Default

Thanks for the reply, I just checked it and the key is not jammed. Any more ideas?
JB Rekit is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 10:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

start/run/msconfig and make sure safeboot or boot options is not checked or set to minimal. Should be diagnostic startup just make sure its set for normal boot.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 10:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

When you come to that menu select <Last known good configuration> run msconfig, and possibly a system restore.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 11:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 131
Default

when I select that, it acts like it will start windows, flashes a blue screen with a lot of stuff written on it for less that 1 sec and then starts back at the beginning again.
JB Rekit is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 11:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 131
Default

I tried hitting the F8 key and got a larger menu to choose from and tried the restore option and just when I thought it might be starting to do something, the blue screen flashed and it rebooted again.
JB Rekit is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 11:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Let's see if I can spell it out for you, r-e-f-o-r-m-a-t, and reinstall windows. That would be the easiest thing to do instead of sitting around trying to find a solution.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 11:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

True. If you got the original windows CD, pop it back in and start over again.
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-30-2004, 07:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 32
Default

To start with... DO NOT FORMAT!!! It is a last resort. You will lose ALL your files and have to reinstall EVERYTHING from motherboard and component drivers to your operating system, favourite programs, etc. It's predominantly an unnecessary and tedious process that will take hours to recover from. And that is if you know what you're doing. You will lose ALL your files if you format.

What you need to do is diagnose the problem. We can help you with that but we will need to know certain things.

1. How many beeps are you getting on boot up. One single boot beep or a sequence of long and short beeps, continuous beeping, etc. Those beeps are your computer telling you where the problem lies. A single boot beep is a good sound. More is not.
2. Are you getting error messages of ANY sort. If you are, tell us what it says. Can you tell what the blue screen says when it flashes on boot up?
3. When you change your display settings thru control panel to High Color (16 bit) and 800 x 600 pixels, does your computer still restart in safe mode/crappy graphics? That points to corrupted video adapter files. An easy fix.
4. Does your computer restore on shut down and boot up on yesterdays restored system? It could be restoring corrupt files. Common in Hewlett Parkard machines with Windoze backed up on a prepartitioned drive.

The more you can tell us, the more we can help.

Please DON'T format. I drive 32 machines and only one has needed formatting in the past 2 years. I had sold it and they wanted a clean HD.

Cheers
kiri
__________________

kiri is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.