Computer won't shut off - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2005, 10:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 219
Default Computer won't shut off

My computer recently crashed and I replaced the motherboard and processor. Since I have done that my computer won't shut off whenever the phone cord is plugged into it. Someone please help me.
__________________

B-rock is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 10:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

What motherboard and processor do you have?
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 10:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
Default

So, wait, you're saying it WILL turn off if the phone cord isn't plugged in? o.O

Regardless, check your jumpers and make sure that the power button was properly attached to the motherboard. I've seen this happen a few times and the solution was as simple as that. If it comes to it, you can always just flip the switch on the back or pull the plug. Those, while not recommended, are both methods that are sure to turn off your computer.
Justin is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 11:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to code28
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Justin
So, wait, you're saying it WILL turn off if the phone cord isn't plugged in? o.O
that is the exact face I made when I read his post too..
__________________

Windows XP Pro (SP2) | Intel P4 3.4GHz | HT | 20" UltraSharp LCD 2007FP
3GB DDR2 (533 MHz) | 256MB ATi Radeon x800 PCI-E | Audigy 2 ZS | Logitech G5
Creative Inspire 5.1 5300 | EluminX S202-12 | Saitek x45 Flight Control System


http://www.userbars.net/userbars/computers/dell.png
code28 is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 11:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 320
Default Re: Computer won't shut off

Quote:
Originally posted by B-rock
My computer recently crashed and I replaced the motherboard and processor. Since I have done that my computer won't shut off whenever the phone cord is plugged into it. Someone please help me.
Is the phone cord pluged into the network card ? (if so remove it before you damage the nic)
__________________
Grayfox is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 12:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 219
Default

Yes, it won't turn off when it is hooked up to the phone line, but it will turn off when it is not plugged hooked up to the phone line. I am pretty sure that it is plugged into the modem and not the network card. I guess tomorrow I will make sure that I have plugged in right.
B-rock is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 12:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 219
Default

Oh, and for my motherboard and processor I have an AMD 64 3000+ on an Elitegroup K8M800-M2 motherboard.
B-rock is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 10:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by B-rock
Yes, it won't turn off when it is hooked up to the phone line, but it will turn off when it is not plugged hooked up to the phone line. I am pretty sure that it is plugged into the modem and not the network card. I guess tomorrow I will make sure that I have plugged in right.
Call me crazy, but that situation doesn't seem realistically possible. Maybe you've got a bad modem? That's kinda the only thing I can see that's possibly wrong with the situation.
Justin is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 10:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

You haven't got some remote settings/power management turned on have you, like shut down over network? Could be waiting for a shutdown command via modem. Also it could be a driver problem. Windows could be "hanging" on a corrupt driver when shutting down. Clutching at straws but it's the only things I can think of.
__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 11:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

First of all the little plug that comes on your mb is for an rj-45 or for a network connection. If you are using this there is your problem. it is not a modem even though they look similar. Or do you have a modem on a pci card. if you have a pci card installed and are not sure if it is a modem or a nic and need help finding out which is installed, go to the control panel. then click the system icon. at the top of the window that pops up, click the hardware tab. Then click the device manager and look under network adaptors. since you would only be doing this if there is a pci card installed you should see two devices, your onboard nic and your other card. reply with what it says for the other card.
__________________

__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.