computer wont post - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2005, 12:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 64
Default computer wont post

I need some advise. I took up the task of cleaning up an old Compaq computer for my sister in law. It is an 800 mghz celeron with the basics. I added a little ram to it plus a cdrw ( I had the parts laying around) I formatted the hd and installed a new operating system as well as a few other goodies. When I was done and was doing the final driver downloads from microsoft, the computer screen froze and a bunch of lines went across it. I tried to reboot but it wont post (nothing happens on the monitor). The monitor is fine I tested it with another computer. I am worried that the onboard video gave out. The mobo does not have and AGP slot so I cannot add a AGP video card. I am in a bind, although I feel somewhat responsible I do not want to sink in alot of money to fix this thing. Anyone have any suggestions, do you guys think it is the onboard video and if so is there a cheap fix (replace mobo or buy a PCI video card, although I have heard they are expensive). Any suggestion would be apprecieated.
__________________

__________________
AMD XP 2500+ (barton)
2X512 DDR 400 kingston
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe mobo
Chaintech Geforce 5200 128mb
160 Gb WD 7200RPM
80 Gb WD 7200RPM
NEC 2500 a
DVD ROM
sergiofar is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 12:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Hmmm...it is possible that the onboard vid blew....try removing the extra ram you put in and see if it works.
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 02:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17
Default

ya, your onboard let out its factory smoke. I had the same thing happen with one of my video cards. It did the same and its just a pile of junk now.
Jesse999 is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 02:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

all i can say is... ouch
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-23-2005, 02:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Bunch of lines on the screen...does indeed sound like the onboard vid blew. A cheap PCI graphics card wouldn't be expensive at all and it probably wind up being MORE powerful lol.

Check out newegg.com and zipzoomfly.com
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.