Computer won't boot. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2004, 10:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 297
Send a message via AIM to BlindApex
Default Computer won't boot.

hey, a friend of mine asked me to try and fix his computer. he doesnt know much about computers, so i had a hard time trying to figure out what the actual problem was.

what i think he meant is that he recently got a new hard drive. i checked the case and there's only one, so he probably got rid of the old one.

he gave a bunch of boot disks. 2 floppys, "startup disk" and "boot disk". then two cd's with windows 98 SE.

i start up the computer several times, trying the different disks. It does POST, and the BIOS looks fine. the startup floppy takes me to some windows 98 setup screen, and tells me that i may need to partition the hard drive, then it just goes to the DOS screen and shows A: (I'm about to check the floppies on another computer to see whats on them) the "boot" disk does nothing. i just get the DOS screen with the flashing underscore.

The CD's do nothing. So what I'm wondering, is if there even is an OS installed on the hard drive. Like I said, i cant really get much information out of him. Any ideas? I'm not the greatest at this stuff either, so tell me if you need any more info.

Specs:

Intel Pentium 233 MHz
64 MB Ram
Hard drive...its a mess in the case so I don't want to take it out and check the size

*EDIT

The Boot floppy contains these files:

ASPI2DOS
ASPI4DOS
ASPI8DOS
ASPI 8U2
ASPICD
BTCDROM
BTDOSM
EBD
EXTRACT
FDISK
FINDCD
FLASHPT
FORMAT
HIMEM
MOUSE
MOUSE (driver)
MOUSE (config)
MSCDEX

The Startup floppy contains:

File -Function
Aspi2dos.sys -Real-Mode Adaptec CD-ROM driver
Aspi4dos.sys -Real-Mode Adaptec CD-ROM driver
Aspi8dos.sys -Real-Mode Adaptec CD-ROM driver
Aspi8u2.sys -Real-Mode Adaptec CD-ROM driver
Aspicd.sys -Real-Mode Adaptec CD-ROM driver
Autoexec.bat -Startup batch file
Btcdrom.sys -Mylex/BusLogic CD-ROM driver
Btdosm.sys -Mylex/BusLogic CD-ROM driver
Command.com -Command interpreter
Config.sys -Loads the device drivers
Drvspace.bin -Microsoft DriveSpace compression driver
Ebd.cab -Cab file containing extract utilities
Ebd.sys -File identifying the ESD
Extract.exe -File to expand the Ebd.cab file
Fdisk.exe Disk partition tool
Findramd.exe -Utility to find the RAMDrive during startup
Flashpt.sys -Mylex/BusLogic CD-ROM driver
Himem.sys -XMS Memory Manager
Io.sys -System boot file
Msdos.sys -Boot option information (paths, multiboot, and so on)
Oakcdrom.sys -Generic device driver for ATAPI CD-ROM drives
Ramdrive.sys -Creates a Ramdrive during startup
Setramd.bat -Searches for first available drive to be a Ramdrive



Dont know if this helps...any ideas?
__________________

__________________
[size=2]
AMD 64 3200+ Socket 939
DFI LanParty nF4 SLI-DR
BFG GeForce 6600GT OC
WD Caviar 200GB SATA-II
Thermaltake Venus 12 HSF
CoolerMaster Wavemaster Case

|P|A|I|N|T|B|A|L|L|
my anti-drug
BlindApex is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 11:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

What happens if you don't boot up with any disks in the drives? BIOS will probably come back saying can't find OS, so I'm going to go off of that. Since the setup disks are saying that you may have to partition the hard drive, you'll probably have to use fdisk and format. After that, 98 should install, if that's what your friend wants.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 11:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 127
Default

Change the setting in the bios so that it boots from CD first. Then try the Win98 CD's.
__________________
System specs:
Mobo: ASUS P4P800 Deluxe
CPU: PIV 2.80 HT
RAM: Kingston 2*256 3200
HD 1: IBM 80GB 7200
HD 2: IBM 40GB 7200
CD: NEC (anno 1996)
GC: Radeon 9600 Pro
fiezk is offline  
Old 08-19-2004, 11:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

Didn't read close enough. Thought you said setup disk, not setup floppy. Try what fiezk is suggesting.
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.