Computer will not boot after sound card install... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2005, 05:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Halchka99 Send a message via Yahoo to Halchka99
Default Computer will not boot after sound card install...

So today i went in to install a sound car for one of our graphics guys.

I took out his sound blaster live card and replaced it with a audigy 2 card.(same slot)

I took all the precautions(uplug pc etc etc...)

After installing the sound card i put everything back and rebooted.

upon reboot i got a message along the lines of WARD boot not found or installed(cant really remember)

It was hanging then continued with the usual boot(found the drives, ram etc...) then all the text on the screen became unread able. it was blurry and it just froze there.

I rebooted and nothing. Just a black screen. keyboard lights are off and the monitor doesnt get a signal.

I tried removing the sound card, also tried a different video card with no luck.


Anyone have any insight on this?
__________________

Halchka99 is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 01:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Halchka99 Send a message via Yahoo to Halchka99
Default

ttt
__________________

Halchka99 is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 01:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Did you uninstall your old drivers? That might be causing problems as you start to boot into Windows.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 03:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Reset the bios with the jumper or remove the battery for 15 minutes. Post back with results.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.