Computer Upgrade... Soon - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2005, 09:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default Computer Upgrade... Soon

Hey guys.
I know my computer sucks, I've heard it a billion times lol but now I'm going to SLOWLY start upgrading it. So here's what I'm thinking of getting:

AMD 939 GIGABYTE K8NSNXP 939 MOTHERBOARD

OR

AMD 939 GIGABYTE K8NXP - SLI MOTHERBOARD

AMD ATHLON 64 3200+ PROCESSOR / BOX / SOCKET 939

LEADTEK 6600GT 128MB VIDEO CARD / DVI

x2 KINGSTON KVR400X64C3A - 512 / 512MB PC3200 DDR (If I buy this ram for my current comp set-up now, discard the ram that's currenty in there which is only pc2700. Would it be able to run on my current comp set-up as well as my new one?)

SEAGATE 160GB BARRACUDA IV 7200RPM HARD DISK DRIVE / 8MB CACHE

This any good? If you have any suggestions let me know!

- Michael -
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 11:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

Sounds pretty good. I would go with EVGA 6600GT.
__________________

__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 11:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

Should I go with the pci or agp 6600GT? However I have heard that the pci one is faster... what are the advantages of the agp?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 11:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Hey, don't sweat your rig. It beats the snot outa mine.

Right now, it is mainly personal preference. There's not a lot of speed difference because games haven't taken advantage of the pipelines in PCI-E yet. But they will soon.

I'd go with the PCI-E. If nothing else, for future expansion.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 12:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

Yeah the one with the PCI-E doesn't have as many features as the other. Take a look on gigabytes website and you'll see what I mean. What about the RAM? What should I do about that?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 12:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

looks good

Quote:
Originally posted by majistic
Sounds pretty good. I would go with EVGA 6600GT.
what's wrong with the leadtek?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 01:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

Because of all the major upgrades, would it be necessary to upgrade the psu as well? Currently it's 350 watt, I was thinking of moving up to a 500?

- Michael -
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 02:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

you probably have a no brand 350w, which won't work

unless it's a seasonic 350, you'd probably be better off with a new psu to avoid harming anything

if you're going pci-e, i suggest the ocz modstream 450w or the fortron blue storm 500w
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 07:37 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Sounds pretty good, remeber if you get a pci-e board, you need pci-e graphics card.

You dont need to go as expensive as a modstream, think thermaltake td-420ad
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 09:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

I was just having a look on the pci board
http://www.giga-byte.com/MotherBoard...K8NXP-SLI.htm#
and where would I be able to put my sound card, gfx card, network card etc, there isn't enough pci slots... (I'm confused)
Thanks diabloII for the power supply advice, are those psu's very expensive? Like would it be cheaper just getting a whole new case? AND CAN SOMEONE PLEASE ANSWER MY MEMORY QUESTION LOL!

Thanks,

- Michael -
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.