Computer Upgrade for Gaming? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-11-2004, 11:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
Default Computer Upgrade for Gaming?

I am going to upgrade my old computer for gaming.

Is this computer suitable for playing games like Doom 3, Sims 2, Half-Life 2 and next generation games:
-Intel Pentium III 897 MHz
-512 Ram
-Diamond Viper Radeon 9600XT 256MB AGP Video Card
-Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
-Samsung 40 GB HDD
-Windows XP: Home Edition
__________________

knucklez is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 11:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

not really. u'll have to get a mobo processor and memory and you should be alright. if u can get a sata hard drive.

u could run it, but u'll have to turn off many effects thats not going to make it as much enjoyable for u.
__________________

xotix is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 11:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks, but could I play Sims 2 though?
knucklez is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 11:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

i think you can. but you can't run it on the highest settings.
xotix is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 04:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

The CPU is your bottleneck........

512mb is enough, and the GFX card is pretty good
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 05:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
The CPU is your bottleneck........

512mb is enough, and the GFX card is pretty good
Yeah what merlin said

With an Intel processor I'm going to say you'll need atleast anywhere between 2-2.5GHz to run it efficiently. Even 2GHz on an intel machine is kind of slow now a days being that a 2GHz AMD will be more powerful than a 2GHz Intel, but you can't compare hertz per hertz with those brands. But yeah overall you got a good system it's just that processor that is killin ya
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 05:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Make sure that you get a good motherbaord with a good chipset as well. That is one of the most overlooked details. Do some research on different motherboard brands and chipsets before buying. The i865 and i875 chipsets are some of the best ones for Pentium 4 right now. Of course, with a new motherboard you will have to buy new RAM as well. Compare brands, models, and speeds of memory as well. Then check compatibility between motherboards, memory, and processors.
Comparisonman is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 07:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Well, if he is gonna change the mobo and CPU it might be more cost efficient to get an Athlon XP setup
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 10-11-2004, 09:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah, for basically $175 you can get the ABit NF7-S version 2 board and the 35w 2400+ XP-M like I did and OC it, I got it at 2.3GHz, stock speed is 1.8 and I haven't even tried REALLY pushing it yet. I just wanted to go from 133FSB to 200 to be able to utilize my RAM.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.