Computer turns on, now doesnt work! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2004, 10:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 87
Send a message via AIM to radguy
Exclamation Computer turns on, now doesnt work!

I seriously think my computer has a grudge against me..... Sometimes it will reboot immediatly, sometimes it will get halfway into windows.... but we never got back into windows once we cleared the CMOS.... http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=9227 ......

now we get an error telling us a file is corrupt..... what can we do????

if we put in the windows disc to repair, it tells us another file is corrupt....

what the heck do we do??????

we have 4 computers in this room, 2 on xp, so if we need to move the HD we can....

The error in windows setup we get is : The entry "KD(heart)OM.DLL" in the [SourceDisksFiles] section of the inf file is corrupt or missing

Setup cannot continue. Press any Key to Exit.

If we try to start windows normally it goes to the windows boot screen and stays there forever... If we do safe mode or last known configuration, the computer restarts but gives us another error saying that a file is missing or corrupt!


WTF DO WE DO??
__________________

__________________
<b><center>|My Current System ( till i get more money)|</center></b><p>
Ahanix Platinum XP Case (Modded)
S-ATA 80GB HD 7200 RPM
52X48X52 CDRW
16X DVD+r/-r
512 (2 x 256) PC 3200 DDR Ram 400 mhz
CP technologies i865APE Mainboard (ya i kno nobody has heard of it)
p4 2.66 800mhz WITH HT oc\'ed to 2.99ghz
geforce fx 5200 128 mb agp 8x (ya i kno bottom of the line but i oc\'ed it the best i could)
Windows XP Home Edition SP2 (SP2 in my opinion sucks when you first get it)
Realtek AC97\' Onboard Audio
JMW 17\" Flat \"Screen\" (not panel) Monitor
P4 Approved 450 Watt power supply

Im doing ok for a 15 year old, rit?
http://www.ratemypc.net/pictures/img40c64cbc90148.jpg
radguy is offline  
Old 01-10-2004, 12:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

well sounds like your o/s is corrupt. So wipe everything of that drive. Re-install the o/s and see what happens. If it doesn't work it might be your o/s disk is danmaged, but move your hd to an other computer and see if it works there. If it doesn't well your o/s is garbage if it does something is having a conflict in that computer. So once you do what i first stated we can move from there
__________________

XT is offline  
Old 01-10-2004, 01:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 87
Send a message via AIM to radguy
Default

how do i wipe everything off the drive?

btw....my o/s is a brand new disk so...


last time i reformatted my HD i used the windows set up...windows set up wont work


__________________
<b><center>|My Current System ( till i get more money)|</center></b><p>
Ahanix Platinum XP Case (Modded)
S-ATA 80GB HD 7200 RPM
52X48X52 CDRW
16X DVD+r/-r
512 (2 x 256) PC 3200 DDR Ram 400 mhz
CP technologies i865APE Mainboard (ya i kno nobody has heard of it)
p4 2.66 800mhz WITH HT oc\'ed to 2.99ghz
geforce fx 5200 128 mb agp 8x (ya i kno bottom of the line but i oc\'ed it the best i could)
Windows XP Home Edition SP2 (SP2 in my opinion sucks when you first get it)
Realtek AC97\' Onboard Audio
JMW 17\" Flat \"Screen\" (not panel) Monitor
P4 Approved 450 Watt power supply

Im doing ok for a 15 year old, rit?
http://www.ratemypc.net/pictures/img40c64cbc90148.jpg
radguy is offline  
Old 01-10-2004, 01:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

first re-format drive.
Second clear cmos
Third re-install o/s
Fourth if it works walla if it doesn't take it to new computer(on that same h/d) and see if it works. After you do that post back
XT is offline  
Old 01-10-2004, 02:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 87
Send a message via AIM to radguy
Default

thx man its all workin good. thank you!!!
__________________
<b><center>|My Current System ( till i get more money)|</center></b><p>
Ahanix Platinum XP Case (Modded)
S-ATA 80GB HD 7200 RPM
52X48X52 CDRW
16X DVD+r/-r
512 (2 x 256) PC 3200 DDR Ram 400 mhz
CP technologies i865APE Mainboard (ya i kno nobody has heard of it)
p4 2.66 800mhz WITH HT oc\'ed to 2.99ghz
geforce fx 5200 128 mb agp 8x (ya i kno bottom of the line but i oc\'ed it the best i could)
Windows XP Home Edition SP2 (SP2 in my opinion sucks when you first get it)
Realtek AC97\' Onboard Audio
JMW 17\" Flat \"Screen\" (not panel) Monitor
P4 Approved 450 Watt power supply

Im doing ok for a 15 year old, rit?
http://www.ratemypc.net/pictures/img40c64cbc90148.jpg
radguy is offline  
Old 01-10-2004, 04:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

anytime glad i could help
__________________

XT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.