Computer Tracking Device - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2010, 10:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
RedTail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Default Computer Tracking Device

Team,
I was wandering if anyone has ever heard of a chip that I could implant into my computer where I can track its location if its ever stolen?
Red
__________________

RedTail is offline  
Old 05-11-2010, 10:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Computer Tracking Device

You mean something like LoJack on cars? I have heard there is a way, but you have to get it done when you purchase the PC from what i know.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-11-2010, 11:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default Re: Computer Tracking Device

Most computers can use a program known as LoJack, they have two options, either a BIOS version that pings back to them, and they report to police if you report it stolen, or, a software version that is rather easy to remove, but most people are too ignorant to check for such a thing when powering a pc on while on any network.

If I remember right there is a basic service which costs $40 a year, or the premium service which is like $60 a year, the key differences is one, allows you to delete sensitive files remotely, that way if it is powered on, and connected to a network, once the program communicates with HQ, it will start erasing critical data.

But, any laptop can have it, but only certain brands/models can have the program implanted into the BIOS.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Friend Building Comp ZorrosRage New Systems | Building and Buying 10 03-07-2010 03:58 PM
HELP! Battlefield 2 Crashes when entering Singleplayer,Multiplayer, and Audio Options Grayman PC Gaming 7 03-17-2009 02:26 AM
Microsoft Visual c++ error GG1972 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 02-13-2009 10:52 PM
computer tells me i have no audio device installed ae357em Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 11-03-2008 12:10 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.