Computer on "Standby", fans keep running?? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2005, 11:51 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

When I used to put my Dell on standby, it would shut everything down, the rear exhaust fan, the psu fan, all that. It was silent. But then I moved to a new apartment, and when I put my dell on standby, the fans didn't shut down anymore. But, since it only had a weak psu fan and a weak exhaust fan it didn't really matter. Now that I have a computer with 2 chassis fans, 2 psu fans and a cpu fan, its much more noticable.
__________________

cedjunior is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 08:48 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

Go into your bios

bios > power management and change "ACPI Suspend Type" to "S3(STR)"

this will suspend everything under ram when you go into standby mode. This mode will basically completely shut your computer off requiring you to push the power button to bring it out of standby mode.

Hope this helps.


(i can't beleive you guys did'nt know this!)
__________________

__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 10:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

I don't think i've ever put this PC into stand by...
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 12:51 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

i only started to do it when my windows boot times took to long.. now i can boot up in about 15 seconds.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 07:02 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i usually put my old comp on standby. then the blue light goes orange and eveyrthing is dead silent. then i press it again and it comes to life.

thanks sprooty ill try that out and see if it works! i like standy. i hate turning it off and turning it on. and i hate how my monitor freezes up if a i leave it on to long
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 10:04 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

Well thanks for the advice. I set the BIOS option to S3 and it worked perfectly. I also noticed that I don't have to hit the power button to bring my comp out of standby mode, I just need to hit a key on the keyboard just like my old computer. BUT, I do have the power on keystroke option enabled, so that may or may not have something to do with that.

I like using standby because back when I still had dial up, not too long ago, it was much easier for me to leave web pages open all the time and just refresh them rather than navigate to them when ever, and I like to keep some programs open if I'm working on a big project and I don't want to lose track of what I'm doing, and also my computer used to be in my bedroom. Now that I have a 2bed apt I've got an office set up so its not an issue anymore.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 03:31 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

me too i just set mines to S3. and i also set it to keyboard bring out of standby. but sometimes it wont turn back on. the monitor is just black..hmm
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.