Computer Specs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2006, 10:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 22
Default Computer Specs

Can anyone tell me how to find out my computer specifications, such as processor speed, harddrive size, and so on?

Thanks.
__________________

The Narcissist is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 11:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

use a program called Everest
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 11:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

An easy way - Press Windows key and Pause at the same time (on your keyboard). That will tell you your procesor, RAM, and OS information.

To get more detailed info on your PC, download Everest from MG.
http://majorgeeks.com/EVEREST_Ultima...006_d4876.html
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 01:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Thanks, both of you.

I know nothing about computers at all really, so any help with this?

My processor is apprently 2.50ghz. Is this good enough?

And also, what does RAM do, and what is a good amount to have on your PC?

My whole computer has been running slow lately, so I'm going to be upgrading soon. Any help would be appreciated.
The Narcissist is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 02:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default

depends on what youll be doing with it



use the search button
dkNinja is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 02:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

for a Pentium 4/AMD Athlon, 2.5 Ghz is very good.

For celeron/sempron, 2.5 Ghz is basic...


RAM is like adding IQ to a computer, the more the better, make sure you have enough for Windows, antivirus, and internet at least.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 06:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Depends what you want to do on your computer? if you dont want to play top games then the computer you have now would be fine with a few upgrades.

A good amount of RAM (if your not playing games) would be 512 DDR, should run smoothly with that, or 1 GIG DDR if you really want things speedy. If you want to run top games though then you will have to spend a fair bit on RAM and lots of other things which i wont list because you might not want to game
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 02:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
My whole computer has been running slow lately, so I'm going to be upgrading soon. Any help would be appreciated.
The key words here are "running slow lately", which sounds like it could be a few things...
  • Spyware/adware
  • Visus/virii
  • Full/fragmented hard drive
  • Device conflict

For spyware/adware, you nned to do some downloading. Go with Microsoft Windows Defender, Spybot, and AdAware. Run them in that order. They are all free and available at MajorGeeks.com:
http://www.majorgeeks.com/Microsoft_...der_d4466.html
http://www.majorgeeks.com/SpyBot-Sea...roy_d2471.html
http://www.majorgeeks.com/Ad-Aware_S...onal_d506.html

Hopefully you are running an antivirus. If not... well, that's a whole 'nuther ballgame. Use a free online scan to check out your stuff. TrendMicro offers a great one:
http://www.trendmicro.com/hc_intro/default.asp

For a full or fragmented drive, start with CCleaner to wipe out all the temporary crap, as well as to clean up your registry.
http://www.majorgeeks.com/CCleaner_d4191.html
You also need to do a defragmentation. Windows comes with one, but it ain't so hot. Look at O&O; they offer a free and a paid version (yes, it is worth the money, and they give you a 30-day trial):
http://www.majorgeeks.com/O&O_Defrag...ion_d4545.html
http://www.majorgeeks.com/O&O_Defrag...tion_d809.html

To check for device conflicta, first ask yourself if you have added anything to your comp lately, especially before it slowed down (like printers, graphics card, anything that attaches to the computer). If you answered yes, go into Device Manager and see if anything has an exclamation mark by it. If it does, it's having a problem.

See if any of this helps you out.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-07-2006, 11:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

Start > Accessories > System Tools > System Information should give you more detailed information.
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 05-09-2006, 02:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

3Dmark05, Through Windows, and CPUz
__________________

__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.