Computer sharing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2006, 11:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 118
Send a message via AIM to c0mmun1st4lyf3
Default Computer sharing

hey, well like a week ago i can use network places to get into my sister's computer(documents & shared documents). now it doesn't work when i try to open her doc from mine. instead, she can access mine from her computer. when i try to access her computer, this error says " access denied...and alot more stuff" how do i fix this i need to bak up her stuff so she can format her computer.

c0mmun1st4lyf3 has attached this image:

__________________
__________________

__________________
HELP!!
c0mmun1st4lyf3 is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 11:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 118
Send a message via AIM to c0mmun1st4lyf3
Default

this is what it says sorry for double post bu tthe first one wont let me upload a pic
Attached Images
File Type: jpg untitled.jpg (20.6 KB, 24 views)
__________________

__________________
HELP!!
c0mmun1st4lyf3 is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 11:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

any firewalls updates or new firewalls installed?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 12:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

are both computer turned on as well as the router?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 10:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 118
Send a message via AIM to c0mmun1st4lyf3
Default

lol both are turned on, should be no fire wall, only the firewall for the windows update one.

hmm.. i tried to turn off the fire wall but all the options are disabled.. hmm how do i reable them?
__________________
HELP!!
c0mmun1st4lyf3 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 03:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 50
Default

1. go to Network Places
2. on the bar on the left under Network tasks click Setup a Home or Small office Network.
3. Go through it, setting all the right options for your network
4. When it tells you to name your network call it HOME (or wateva u want)
5. Finish that up then do it on ur sisters computer and make sure u use the same network name as the first computer
6. It should work now, it usually does for me
__________________

flurobmx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.